DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on your week, what was something you're proud of?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Getting a code compliment... or whatever else might spark joy ❀️

Wishing you more wins to come β€” and as much relaxation as this cat is experiencing...

Cat getting brushed by multiple people

Top comments (61)

Collapse
 
ash_bergs profile image
Ash

I made some good progress on a blog post I've been working a touch too long on. I created some art I'm mildly proud of. And finally, I made more progress learning Docker and Kubernetes for a new job I start on Aug 9.

All-in-all, a solid week. Wishing everyone a happy and relaxing weekend to come!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck with the new job! Glad it's motivating you to do explicit learning. Remember that you're going to keep learning every day on the job, so if there's something you enter day one wishing you knew better, don't worry it will come.

Collapse
 
ash_bergs profile image
Ash

Thank you Ben!

I have a quote that keeps me going from someone I went to boot camp with, who was one of those people that had been doing this stuff longer than I've been around and didn't actually need a boot camp at all, but I digress. He got a job, and after a month he told our little friend group "Most days I still don't know what I'm doing."

I think I'll be reminding myself of that statement a lot in the coming weeks and months.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That’s great

Collapse
 
stevenmcgown profile image
StevenMcGown

I just read your post about react hooks, and it came just in time. Front end development is something I have always struggled with and React has become my favorite framework to work with after switching over from Angular. Also, if you want to learn more about Docker Kubernetes, and OpenShift feel free to view my profile :)

Collapse
 
ash_bergs profile image
Ash

Thank you, this comment made my whole day! It's a great feeling to know something you created was of worth to another.

A visit to your page shows me that my 'to read' list just got a bit longer πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I'm going away on vacation to the beach ALL of next week! πŸ™Œ 🏝 🍹 β˜€οΈ 🌊

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Well deserved

Collapse
 
nikdark profile image
Mikita Yafremau

I want too πŸ₯Ί

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I just returned today and wow it was nice. 😎

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We launched the Forem Self-Host playbook, and our announcement posts got like 30k views β€” So expecting some good creative Forem instances to come out of this.

GitHub logo forem / selfhost

Selfhost your Forem Community on your own infrastructure πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
r0land013 profile image
R0land013

I created my first web page with HTML and CSS.

Collapse
 
nikdark profile image
Mikita Yafremau

My congratulations πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow, big milestone!

Collapse
 
foresthoffman profile image
Forest Hoffman

I turned 26!

GIF of Steve Buscemi saying, "How do you do fellow kids?"

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Happy birthday!

Collapse
 
kalashin1 profile image
Kinanee Samson

happy birthday man

Collapse
 
ash_bergs profile image
Ash

Happy birthday! πŸŽ‚

Collapse
 
estruyf profile image
Elio Struyf

Implemented a new service with Azure Web PubSub in a new SaaS product I'll be soon launching. First I had planned to have this part implemented later this year, but found some spare hours, and gave it a try. It was much easier than I anticipated, so went on and eventually implemented it. Great way to start the weekend.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I completed the first week in my new job πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

How has onboarding been?

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

OK so far lots of meetings and some training modules to complete.

Collapse
 
alexandreruban profile image
Alexandre Ruban

Hey there!

This week I started a new project: I'm writing a book/course on design for developers! Even though I work mainly with Ruby on Rails on the backend in my current job, I really enjoy Figma, CSS and design and I would like to help other devs realize that it's not that hard and it's actually fun!

I wanted to tell you I realized I liked writing after I started blogging on DEV, so thank you very much! ✨

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I wanted to tell you I realized I liked writing after I started blogging on DEV, so thank you very much! ✨

Hell yeah, that's what we wan to hear!

Collapse
 
swathi profile image
Swathi Dharshna S • Edited

I got to write my first DEVELOPERS Digest (developer.startupdigest.com/) for Startup Digest. After years of working with dev community, FINALLY!

dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/up...

Collapse
 
piyush profile image
Piyush Suthar

TBH, this week was really awesome for me. I crossed 128 stars on my Windows-11-Web GitHub repo.
I can now play flute way better than I used to play a week ago (probably because everytime I encountered a bug, I'll play it for 2 minutes πŸ˜†).
And I've started learning Rust πŸ¦€ too.

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

I finally regain my motivation to code. I still don't have much motivation but at least I can take online course without problem now.

Also, I am a staff at Stupid Hackathon Thailand. It will start on 26 July. Last year, I was a participant.

Collapse
 
balt1794 profile image
balt1794

Launched Django Takeoff! Course 2021 - devbalt.com/takeoff/

Feel free to check it out

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck! I'm sure this is going to help a lot of folks.

Collapse
 
balt1794 profile image
balt1794

I hope so. Thanks

Collapse
 
vbanditv profile image
Fima Taf

I've finally released my first ever open source project - a plugin for Vite.
For a very long time (years) I wanted somehow to contribute to the open source world, but didn't found the correct way to do it, and this week I've finally made it :)

Collapse
 
sherrydays profile image
Sherry Day

Learned a lot about Ansible by going through the Forem Self-Host guide

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yes!

Collapse
 
yoshida profile image
Masao Yoshida

I have finished second milestone of a Vue.js+AWS project this week.