DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Heyo!

Hope you all had a wonderful week.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Watching scary movies 😱

Zack Galifianakis flying through the sky with the caption,

Have a good weekend ❤️

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Wrote an article which I first drafted 4 months ago, and it's been my best article here on Dev so far!

Cancellation tokens in C#

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Nice!

Collapse
 
ofthewildfire profile image
Kirsten Melissa ✨

Well done; as someone learning to write and wanting to write more, good on you for getting it out.

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Thank you so much!
If you want to get into writing, I say just don't hesitate, go for it, even if it's not perfect at first, you'll make considerable progress the more you practice, and the more publishings you get out there!
Good luck 🤞🏻

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

Finish recording the first module of my new Udemy course about LINQ

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

We launched two new challenges on DEV this week, and are also in a pre-launch state 👀 with two more challenges. It's been a lot of work getting these together, but also a lot of fun!

On a personal note, my cucumber and pumpkin seedlings have popped up which I'm very happy about 🌱

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen • Edited

This week was good! ^_^

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

Wow. Lastly, I had asked for explanation. I didn't obtain any responses. Is it possible to write a response to a post in social medias automatically without human involvment ? It can be used when you are not present in responding to people. When you back, system upon it lets you respond humanly. Is it possible ?

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

It would be quite easy assuming you've got an API to whatever social media channel you're referring to.

Thread Thread
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

OK. I must retain that it is possible. Can you give me some roadmaps elsewhere of your nice article ?

Thread Thread
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Let's say you'd like to integrate with Twitter. The way you'd have to do it, is to allow the AI to invoke their API. I'm demonstrating here how I'm consuming a GET endpoint, but the mechanics would be similar for a POST. Once you've got an "AI Function" that allows for invoking their POST method, the only thing remaining would be to retrieve new notifications.

At this point you could create a scheduled task, unless your SM API has web hooks, at which point you could pull new notifications once every 30 minutes. If there are notifications, you could send these to OpenAI with an instruction telling it to "generate a reply to the following information" (or something).

Once OpenAI has generated a reply, you invoke Twitter's POST method to reply to the thread. It's quite easy. If it's violating Twitter's terms of services I'm more uncertain of. Assuming I've got all access I'd need, using Magic Cloud this would be a "20 minute job" for me ...

Thread Thread
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Ok. I'm happy of clear answer. I will work on in my next project on professional woman social media. I subscribe to your Youtube Channel too. Thank you too much for responses and dedicated time.

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

Discovered issues while attempting to use Fetch JS Api to C# .NET Core Web API which uses Auto-binding. There are some weird things that happen when your Web API is set to get data using [FromBody]. I wrote it up as an article here at Dev.to : .NET Core WebAPI (Auto)Binding Parameters When Calling Via JavaScript Fetch
I provide full examples and I've already referred to it while writing my latest app (coming soon).

Collapse
 
kevinweejh profile image
Kevin

Got reached out to on LinkedIn by a recruiter, which led to a phone screening, got requested for my resume, and now have a technical interview scheduled for next week. Honestly, crazy stuff. I've been working part-time gigs to tide through this period of self-improvement, learning Web Dev and the likes from pretty much nothing.

All of this is coming up to the two-year mark in a couple of months, it's been a real struggle (some periods of time more than others) - taking a detour in life while everyone around me seems to be zooming past, but hey, things are finally looking up :)

Collapse
 
ontowhee profile image
ontowhee

That is awesome! Good luck with the interview!

taking a detour in life while everyone around me seems to be zooming past

I wonder if this is just a perception, not reality. Either way, don't compare yourself to others. Keep going and keep improving yourself!

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

My wins this week

  • Installed macOS Sequoia on new container
  • Updated linux home server and it didn't brick
  • Shipped 3 app updates
  • Started work on my intro video for my Godot course that also shipped
Collapse
 
ontowhee profile image
ontowhee

I posted an entry this week on Dev! It was a topic I wanted to write about for a month, and I was finally able to write it. I'm still trying to find my style of writing. I know it wasn't perfect, but I'm glad I got it to a point to hit that publish button. My goal is to consistently write and keep improving.

Collapse
 
sapegin profile image
Artem Sapegin

I published a tiny VS Code extension to take notes and a Chrome theme.

Collapse
 
josephdailey11 profile image
JDailey

I was able to understand how Linux uses uDev instead of fstab to create an alias for any USB device that is plugged into the machine. After looking at many resources, I was able to effectively change the automount device to my alias name. Since it didn't actually change the mount name, the only time I seen the alias name is when I unmounted the drive prior to unplugging the external drive. I'm thinking about changing the mount point in fstab. The experiment, for learning purposes, was a success, but more data is needed before changing the fstab file.

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

Started writing article on Linkedin on carbon digital technologies.
Fix some security concepts on Yahoo app, workouts don't end though.
I had hustle to sign in here, but this morning it is happily going on.

Collapse
 
jennavisions profile image
Jenna

I'm not sure if those count as a win... 🤔

But after a long hesitation, I finally took the courage to join DEV and actively get involved in the community. 😊

  • Last week I participated in the frontend challenge and posted my very first post on DEV. 🚀

  • I have posted only 3 posts so far, and l look forward to contributing more and learning a lot from the community. 📚

  • I actively participated in the welcome thread and tried to engage with other members' posts as much as possible. 🙂"

  • I received 3 badges so far :
    -- Writing Debut 📝
    -- Frontend Challenge Completion Badge 🎖️
    --1 Week Community Wellness Streak 🌟

  • Become a trusted member here (DEV community). 🎉
    It was unexpected, I was surprised 😮 when I received an e-mail:
    'Congrats! You're now a "trusted" user on DEV Community!'
    It happened after only a few days of engaging on the platform. 😁

Thank you for trusting in me. 🙏

It may seem like a small win but every single one is worth celebrating. 🎊

Collapse
 
blyke profile image
Laiba Nadeem

this week I started a web dev bootcamp on Udemy taught by Dr. Angela Yu from The App Brewery. Currently learning HTML.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck!

Collapse
 
syedmuhammadaliraza profile image
Syed Muhammad Ali Raza
Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Interesting.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Manage to deliver 2 session at the London AI summit.

Image description

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.