DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Doing some mindfulness exercises ... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Happy Weekend!

Friday Cat

Top comments (51)

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

More a win for the past few weeks, but finally started blogging at my site thebouv.com and doing some cross-posting on LinkedIn and here on Dev.to.

20+ years in this industry; figured I can do some writing now. :D

dev.to/thebouv/building-my-static-...
dev.to/thebouv/devops-teams-are-an...
thebouv.com/

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

sounds good! A lot of experience to share 😊 keep it up!

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

And I'm full of opinions sooooooo..... :D

Thread Thread
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Looking forward to them 😅
maybe start with the ✔||🤢 commit or vomit series 😁

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T • Edited

Blog SEO Tip: Add Canonical URL pointing to original blog here for your dev.to Posts.

Edit post and Check post options near save changes.

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

Weird. I just checked, and I don't have any options near save changes. Just the save changes button itself.

Thread Thread
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T • Edited

Just near to save changes or Right to save changes there is small round icon. Click that you should see the options. :)

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

Ooh, nice, thanks. Didn't know that was an option in the Dev.to interface. Thanks for the tip.

Collapse
 
gedalyakrycer profile image
Gedalya Krycer
Collapse
 
yoursunny profile image
Junxiao Shi

I won the raffle for a "leftover" vaccine. It reduces the chance of me dying this year by 40%.

I got vaccinated

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Happy to hear that you have some protection now! What a great feeling. Wishing you health and all the good things!

Collapse
 
cescquintero profile image
Francisco Quintero 🇨🇴

Congrats, stay safe!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

What an amazing feeling! Glad you are safe and healthy

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Making new friends on dev.to and earning the one of a kind early bird medal, thnx @technoglot 😁😁

reached 10.000+ views 😎

Started a new series and it's going great!

Feeling good 😎😎😎

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Getting over 100,000+ total post views on my DEV blog. 🙌 Also making new friends across social media. And having an increase in work opportunities because of all of the content I have created recently.

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Good job!

I'll race you to 1,000,000 😂

Collapse
 
jankapunkt profile image
Jan Küster

Installed Java 8 + Android SDK + Android Emulator only using Terminal and without installing Android Studio. That was a ride! The best: most of the commands were already researched by one of our assistants so it's not even my win but even with his shellscripts in place this still was a full-day hackathon to get it all installed correctly on my system 🙈

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager

Surviving days like that definitely counts as a win 😊

Collapse
 
unfor19 profile image
Meir Gabay

Created a free Kubernetes Hands-On Self-Paced Course in which you'll create a local Kubernetes development environment on macOS or Windows and WSL2, including HTTPS/TLS and OAuth2/OIDC authentication.

Was tough, but totally worth it

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Awesome!

Collapse
 
nald profile image
Nald • Edited

Surviving the week

This week I had:

  • Few regular coding tasks
  • Writing office planning document
  • College tasks

But actually also I have to:

  • Teach React-Native online for high school students on saturday
  • And optionally i can also record more content for my Youtube Channel for my personal branding on the weekend as this stuff is enjoyable to me

I wish i have more power to through this with awesome energy and not procrastinating, but I think what I have done in this week is a win, so that's it : D

Collapse
 
thuhtetdev profile image
Thu Htet Tun

For this week,

  • I talked to one of my friend and got a freelance application which might be built with Flutter for frontend and rest api for backend.
  • I decided to code with NestJs (A progressive Node.js framework) for backend.
  • Normally, I wrote api with laravel, this time I took risk for NestJs.
  • Since Tuesday, I learned about NestJs.
  • Friday, I posted article for my dev.to and YouTube.
  • This week, my office is also closed for national holidays so I got time to relax too.

Whatever, I enjoyed this week.
What about you?
What are you learning currently? let me know some <3

Collapse
 
mxglt profile image
Maxime Guilbert
  • I finished multiple courses on Kafka and Vault. (Kafka can be so much powerful, it's amazing)
  • Continue to train my writing skills posting here (it's not huge posts, but step by step it will grow up - I hope)
Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

Had a little win today. Found a bug where I was converting string to int as base 16 when it should have been base 10.

It was difficult to catch because, as is often the case for me, the conversion from sensor signal to float is quite confusing. I'm gonna have to update the unit tests!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Nice!

Collapse
 
afif profile image
Temani Afif • Edited

Had my article on the Top 10 of all time in the CSS tag: dev.to/t/css/top/infinity in less than one month! 🎉🎉

Also reached 999 followers 🥳🥳 dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/up...

Thank you all for your support!

Collapse
 
ntmontijo profile image
Nic Montijo

My win this week was debugging my flutter app to work on android! It has been working on iOS perfectly since I started writing it, but it just would not launch on android. I finally found out what I was doing wrong, and it finally launches without issue! Those "aha" moments are the best!

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager • Edited

Found out where Javascript developers wash their hands

Collapse
 
alpha_edit profile image
Alpha_Edit

This week win will be:

Learned a new song
learned a lot about Github and JS
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode