DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Finding a moment to decompress 😄

person relaxing in a pool

Happy Friday!

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
salladshooter profile image
SalladShooter

Started working on my website for the next big update for my Python Web Framework phyal!
Image description

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Woah, that's impressive! Congrats!

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Wow.

Collapse
 
jyoung4242 profile image
Justin Young

My big win is my new article on Cellular Automata at:

dev.to/excaliburjs/cellular-automa...

Collapse
 
horaceshmorace profile image
Horace Nelson • Edited

Absolutely fantastic article. I got obsessed with cellular automata a few years back and did some experiments on Codepen:

Collapse
 
jyoung4242 profile image
Justin Young

Awesome links, thanks!!!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Woah! What a great article, congrats, Justin!

Collapse
 
jyoung4242 profile image
Justin Young

Thank you so much!

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Articles like yours make DEV a special place to learn and share on the internet. Keep doing your great job and never stop writing!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

This week was rough for me, it was full of unforeseen events like a PC without access to the graphic system, my laptop with the screen with occasional glitch effect, my vision being affected by conjunctivitis, sore throat, accumulated uni content, and stagnant projects... So, I believe that my win this week is surviving. I'm sure I'll have a lot of things to fix but everything will be calmer soon.

Collapse
 
sojinsamuel profile image
Sojin Samuel

I'm sure you'll fight through it

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Thanks, Sojin! I'm doing my best to keep myself calm and to break every problem in smaller parts for better solutions

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

I managed to publish an article that shows how easy we can now send sms from the www to New-Caledonia :

It's the achievement of a whole teamwork and patient work. The team is really very excited about that. Now, I'll be able to build some cool tweeks around it ;-p

Collapse
 
jeanj14 profile image
Jean

I was able to make my website responsive enough on desktop on mobile. it's essentially just a simple web calculator that i made from watching a youtube video. styling it was such a pain.

you can check it out with this link

Collapse
 
sojinsamuel profile image
Sojin Samuel

Not yet, cooking something. let you know on 25th

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

We'll be waiting for that, Sojin!

Collapse
 
sojinsamuel profile image
Sojin Samuel

thats so nice of you to say that

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I was able to get back to work on the calendar app I made for my mom after a long time dealing with other things. I fixed a big bug and added a nice feature.

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

That's what progress is about! Congrats, Monty!

Collapse
 
skyloft7 profile image
Mohammed

I'm trying to finish my first "real" game. I've got a 2D OpenGL renderer so far and I've discovered the magic of glShaderBinary() and SPIR-V, which I already used in Vulkan but man it makes GL stuff easier (and more standardized!)

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

I made curry. I twas good.

Collapse
 
pomis172 profile image
Roman Ismagilov

Wrote my longest yet article Mastering Shapes and Clipping in Flutter

Collapse
 
tannakartikey profile image
Kartikey Tanna

I successfully migrated the database of my SaaS app, eKard, to a new server. This upgrade has significantly improved the application's performance, allowing it to handle increased traffic at a much lower cost. My app is built with Ruby on Rails and deployed using Kamal on DigitalOcean.

Collapse
 
horaceshmorace profile image
Horace Nelson • Edited

I wrote an article I've been thinking about for a while on the different contexts in which we all work and to which we must learn how to allocate our time and effort: the technical, the tactical, the strategic, and the political.

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

Well my win is small, but hey it's a start. I have managed to get 10 users for Lambda, my solution to privacy concerns in social media app. Lambda is the world's first ever open-source and privacy base social media app.

Image description

Collapse
 
mlr profile image
mlr
  • Fixed a major UI navigation bug at work with two lines of code.
  • Completed Professional Scrum Master training class.
  • Made progress towards MVP for my mobile budgeting app using MAUI Blazor Hybrid.
Collapse
 
syedmuhammadaliraza profile image
Syed Muhammad Ali Raza