DEV Community

Diego Moura
Diego Moura

Posted on

1 month of learning to code (check-in)⌨️

programmer
Photo by Max Duzij on Unsplash

Tomorrow, May 13, I complete one month of pursuing a new career as a front-end developer. It feels like more when I think the number of things I've learned, podcasts I heard, and blogs I read.

The path to follow

Over those 30 days, I started to build a path for myself in regards to the topics, languages and tools I wanted to incorporate in my skill set. So, which other better way to validate my experience so far, then to share my ideas with my community and ask for feedback.

Below is just a list of topics I'm currently studying or plan to tackle soon. Attention! I'm not considering frameworks as of yet, but I would appreciate opinions of when you think I should start.

I will post at the end, some of the projects I've been working on, feel free to give feedback on those as well.

HTML

  • DOM
  • BEM model
  • Semantics
  • Forms
  • Accessibility (ARIA)
  • Emmet
  • Responsive Images
  • SEO

CSS

  • Resetting x Normalizing
  • Selectors (Pseudo / Attribute)
  • Sass (Scss)
  • SVG (creation and manipulation)
  • Box Model
  • Layout (float/ flex/ grid)
  • Animation (Webkit/ transform/ transition)
  • Responsive / Mobile first (Media query)
  • Browser support
  • CSSOM

Javascript

  • I'm following the book Eloquent Javascript as the base to guide my studies*
  • Values, Types, and Operators
  • Program Structure
  • Functions
  • Data Structures: Objects and Arrays
  • Higher-order Functions
  • Bugs and Errors
  • Regular Expressions
  • Modules
  • Asynchronous Programming
  • JavaScript and the Browser
  • The Document Object Model
  • Handling Events
  • Drawing on Canvas
  • HTTP and Forms

Tools

  • NPM
  • GIT
  • Github
  • Server
  • Network
  • Node.js

Natours Landing Page
Fylo Landing Page
Four Cards Section
Single Price Grid

Top comments (0)