DEV Community

Dilantha Nanayakkara
Dilantha Nanayakkara

Posted on

Build A LAMP Server With Ansible

Setting up a PHP server has always been a pain. After setting up the 149th server manually using the excellent Digital Ocean
community tutorials, it was time to automate the process.

I started with the Digital Ocean Ansible playbooks. Then I added some steps from My First 5 Minutes On A Server.

I wanted Ubuntu 20.04 support so I used multipass to bring up an Ubuntu VM in no time. Since it uses the macOS native hypervisor there was nothing more to install.

Now that things were looking up I decided to open source my efforts and made a project out of it.

PHP is installed via the Sury packages so they are up to date than the native repos.

Originally posted on my blog.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
gayanhewa profile image
Gayan Hewa

Good stuff 👍, Ansible is just one unique tool that can be used for a myriad of things.

Collapse
 
dilantha profile image
Dilantha Nanayakkara

Thanks @gayanhewa I'm just getting into Ansible after years of dabbling with fabfiles. Jeff Geerling's scripts helped me a lot.

Collapse
 
gayanhewa profile image
Gayan Hewa

I have never used Fabfiles, will take a look.