DEV Community

Cover image for Linux, Should you use it? Can you use it?
Rachit Khurana
Rachit Khurana

Posted on • Updated on

Linux, Should you use it? Can you use it?

Some context:

I'm just a student and I have been using windows from my childhood, but I switched to linux about a month ago. I install ubuntu on my main PC as windows was lagging a lot. My PC is a very low end PC so I taught to give linux a try. I then installed kde plasma environment on my ubuntu. And I am so happy with it that I would never switch to windows again.
P.S. I'm not a die-hard programmer or a hacker, I am just a common user with some python knowledge.

Linux has a lot of awesome features. Lemme list few of the notable ones.

Features:

  • Completely Free :
    Unlike windows, Linux has multiple distros that are completely free.

  • Customisation :
    Believe me when I say that Linux can customised to the fullest. You can customise every element of the operating system.

  • Flexibility :
    If you don't like something in your Linux operating system , you can change it according to your preferences. You are not bonded to use the default softwares/packages.

  • Runs better on low end hardware :
    Some linux distros have very low system requirements and can run perfectly on lowend hardware.
    I have a low end PC and windows used to lag a lot but linux doesn't.

and many other features...

Who should use Linux instead of Windows?

If you are a developer, there is a high chance you are already using linux, but if you are not, then you can give it a try.

Installing linux & other softwares can something cause some issues, so if you are good at troubleshooting or googling then you can give it a try.

If you know the basics of computers, then give Linux a try

Or you are just bored of Windows and like to tinker around with your computer.

Which are the most user friendly Linux Distros?

I haven't tried many distros but according to me , you can try Ubuntu for basic users. Or you can try Kubuntu, it has KDE environment & has a lot of customisation features while is still very user friendly.

After all linux is used everywhere from the high end servers to your android smartphones, so why not give it a try on your desktop computer as well.

TL;DR - Give Linux a try, especially KDE plasma environment (Kubuntu)

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
lil5 profile image
Lucian I. Last

Linux mint and manjaro are my personal favorites due to them being very games friendly

Collapse
 
khalil06 profile image
Khalil

pop os is also a nice gamer distro

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

On nice, I'm not really a gamer so don't know about that. But ya, I have heard they are pretty lightweight & fast.

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

Should I write an article on features of KDE plama that I love?

Collapse
 
nicm42 profile image
Nic

Yes, that would be interesting. I'm also a KDE lover (I like that it's a bit crazy)

Collapse
 
nake89 profile image
Kevin Kivi

Yes, please. I've used XFCE, Gnome, LXDE and probably some others, but never KDE. I'm interested to hear about it.

Collapse
 
ryankilleen profile image
Ryan Killeen • Edited

Alternatively, run Kubuntu on Windows with WSL 2 and have both.

most-useful.com/kde-plasma-on-wsl....

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

hmm, this seems interesting, but I'm not going back to windows at all 😅

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I personally prefer Arch Linux hands down best Linux OS

Collapse
 
nake89 profile image
Kevin Kivi

I have used Manjaro for a couple of years and I think it is fantastic. Easy to use for a noobie, but still has the amazing aur repositories for all the latest apps.