DEV Community

Drew Schillinger
Drew Schillinger

Posted on

OpenAI can detect ChatGPT-written content, but couldn't we all?

OpenAI has built a text watermarking method to detect ChatGPT-written content — company has mulled its release over the past year

Ah, the mouse has become the cat, now able to catch people "sneaking a cheat" and detect when content is crafted by AI. (My rendition of how AI writes.)

Although GPT has made significant strides from 3.5 turbo to 4o, I thought it was obvious which content was written by a person and which was artificially generated. In fact, I've had to tone down my writing over the last few years.

I am in that 69% camp of fearing and being falsely accused of using AI to write for me. My emails have always leaned a bit on the pedantic, academic, and "fussy" side. Years back, I was beyond proud achieving a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 18. (I was an English major and always been a logophile after all).

Commentary aside, I am very interested to watch this play out if it is true that GPT has been embedding thumbprint patterns in their responses. (and if that thumbprint looks like "ah, the old thumbprint in the code...").

On a side note, I have seen where some job posters surreptitiously embed a prompt for an AI bot to The debate surrounding this technology highlights the complex interplay between advancing AI capabilities and maintaining trust and transparency.

As OpenAI continues to refine its approach, it remains crucial for users and developers alike to stay informed and critical, ensuring that the integration of AI into our daily lives is both ethical and beneficial.
(Flesch-Kincaid grade level: 17.6)

Top comments (0)