DEV Community

Cover image for Marko: 10 Minute Docs Audit
DocumentWrite
DocumentWrite

Posted on

Marko: 10 Minute Docs Audit

Marko is a library that extends HTML markup, and enables users to build dynamic UIs.

I run a technical documentation business specializing in writing and editing documentation. I made this series to share my insights and help projects craft impactful documentation.

What's The Criteria?

3- Excellent
2 - OK
1 - Poor

Purposeful: Does the QuickStart explain what problem it's trying to solve? Who is the intended audience?

UX Experience: How seamless is the experience? Must the user create an account to get through the Quickstart? Does the Quickstart elicit a sense of joy and achievement?

Accurate: Are the instructions correct? Are they complete?

The Results

I had difficulty figuring out what problem marko was trying to solve. The landing page listed a bunch of features. But honestly, I wasn't sure who it was for and why should I care. When I headed over to the Getting Started Guide, I was greeted with what seemed like a reference guide. There was a tutorial, but it lacked context and wasn't compelling.

I'm sure Marko is a great library, but I wished the documentation spelled out who Marko was for and what problem they're trying to solve.

Score
Purposeful 1.5
UX Experience 1.5
Accurate 2.5

Are you interested in a FREE Quickstart audit for your company? Start here.

Top comments (0)