DEV Community

Domenico Solazzo
Domenico Solazzo

Posted on

Tell Me The Question You HATED The Most During a Job Interview

What is the most HATED question you have received during a Job Interview?

Let's go!

MS

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
jack_garrus profile image
Nadia Guarracino

4+ years of experience as a front-end, 2 full working apps on my cv made entirely by myself plus several projects, I had to hear me asking:

'So... do you know, you know, what's an API? Like, REST'?

I answered, a bit shocked:

'It's the basics'.

Still shocked.

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Was tech people interviewing you? If yes, that's very bad sign.

Otherwise, they are just business people checking for keywords that they got from the tech team :P

Collapse
 
jack_garrus profile image
Nadia Guarracino

It was a CTO of a large and know company. Sigh

Thread Thread
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

OMG! That's such a big red flag...

Thread Thread
 
jack_garrus profile image
Nadia Guarracino

Unfortunately :/

Collapse
 
helleworld_ profile image
Desiré 👩‍🎓👩‍🏫

"How did you learn English if you didn't attend any language school?".

Like, really? 🤦‍♀️

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Seriously? I guess they thought that language school is the only way to learn languages today :D

Collapse
 
helleworld_ profile image
Desiré 👩‍🎓👩‍🏫

Oh but I omitted the best part. When I said "By myself", one of the interviewers said to the other "She could be lying". 😂

Thread Thread
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

LOL 😂😂😂😂

Thread Thread
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

I guess they only spoke one language at that time

Collapse
 
rosejcday profile image
Rose Day

Pick any language you want and answer these coding questions. Answers question after question and each time the response was .... but can you do it in SQL? Then why tell me I can pick a language if you want only SQL. 😐

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Yeah, it happened to me also (not with SQL).

Collapse
 
rosejcday profile image
Rose Day

It is an interesting issue, why give the choice if you did not want the developer to select what they are comfortable with.

Thread Thread
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

I think it is about their mindset and how open-minded is the interviewer asking the question.

Lots of developers like to stick with what they know and don't go to unknown territories.

When I see these red flags, I just move on to the next opportunity!

Collapse
 
ianturton profile image
Ian Turton

I always hate "Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?" - I want to say depends whether I like working here or not.

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Ahahah...Good answer.

I always try to be honest and where I really want to be with my career (either with them or another company).

Companies usually like to see candidates that have ambition and ideas on their own future.