DEV Community

Dominik Weber
Dominik Weber

Posted on • Updated on

What are good Resources to learn about core IT Topics?

Recently, I've talked to some engineer friends, and some core IT topics came up. Topics like virtualization, specific protocols like HSTS or how browsers work.

During this conversation, I realized that I don't know enough about these topics, and now I want to learn.

The thing is, getting an overview of these areas is enough for me. 10 hours of knowledge on a specific topic is too much, and I won't remember the details anyway.

Finding such resources proves difficult, because I cannot even properly put them together in a category.

So, there are 2 questions. Do you know what I mean? And if so, how would you categorize it? And do you know about any resources for that?

Podcasts would be ideal, so I can listen to it on my commute, but anything is welcome.


Follow me on Twitter for more of my thoughts, articles, projects and work.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

Most of what I know has been acquired slowly over time reading a lot and gathering little bits of info here and there. If you were able to provide a little bit more of a list into what you were looking for I'd have a better idea of what to look for. I only ask because virtualization and HSTS (the two things you mentioned) are not core IT topics and require a lot of prerequisite topics to really understand. Unless you want an ELI5 in which case you would be better off reading the intro paragraph in their Wikipedia pages or searching or asking about them individually. I don't mean to sound blunt, and I wish you the best of luck

Collapse
 
domysee profile image
Dominik Weber

Thank you for your response.

That's actually the problem. The topics I mean are the ones I'm not typically exposed to, so there is no list.

So maybe creating a list would be a great starting point.

I know that there is a lot of prerequisite knowledge necessary to fully understand those topics, but that's not what I'm after. I'd like to get an overview of these technologies. What they are, their advantages, disadvantages, and very broadly how they work.

Reading Wikipedia pages is probably very close to what I want, thanks for the hint.

If the topics I mentioned are not core IT topics, could you give examples on topics that are? For some reason categorizing more broadly than specific technologies or areas (e.g. backend, frontend) is quite difficult for me, and I'm eager to improve in that.

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

As the field is constantly expanding I could never make an exhaustive list but I do know a few places you could check out to get started on a few different topics

github.com/mtdvio/every-programmer...

developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/L...

developers.google.com/web/fundamen...

twitter.com/troyhunt

twitter.com/Real_CSS_Tricks

twitter.com/SwiftOnSecurity

and of course dev.to/

Thread Thread
 
domysee profile image
Dominik Weber

Those are great resources, thank you for sharing!

Thread Thread
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

You're welcome :D
Happy learning!