DEV Community

Tim Downey
Tim Downey

Posted on • Originally published at downey.io

How to Make Kubectl Exec Run a Command Against Multiple Pods

I was really surprised to discover the other day that kubectl does not support running the same command against multiple Pods out of the box.
I get why that wouldn't be supported for interactive terminals, but seems like non-interactive commands should be fine.

Oh well. We can still do what we want thanks to UNIX tools like xargs.

kubectl get pods -o name | xargs -I{} kubectl exec {} -- <command goes here>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Just replace the <command goes here> bit with what you want to do.

Example: Setting Log Level to Debug for All Istio IngressGateway Envoys

Here's a real world example of when and how you might want to do this. The other day I was troubleshooting our Istio installation on a dev cluster and needed to set the log level of all of our ingress Envoy proxies to debug. One way to do this is to configure it through a POST request to each Envoy's admin /logging endpoint (on Istio this is on port 15000 by default).

We had five Envoys and I was feeling lazy, so I cooked up the following:

kubectl -n istio-system get pods -l app=istio-ingressgateway -o name | xargs -I{} kubectl -n istio-system exec {} -- curl -s localhost:15000/logging?level=debug -X POST
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I'm sure there are other UNIX incantations that could do the same, but this got the job done for me and I'm proud of it. πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

Top comments (0)