DEV Community

Darren
Darren

Posted on

UX for the web developer

Hi all,

I'm a web developer looking to expand my understanding of the paradigms that underpin UX design.

I'm thinking this may not be a unique starting point, so with this in mind I'm wondering if anyone knows of any materials to help me get started building my understanding of this discipline. Thanks.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand • Edited

I think, a good start rather than jump directly into it would be reading these 2 books:

  • Don't make me think - Steve Krug
  • 100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know About People - Susan Weinschenk

There's a new version of don't make me think focused in web usability, that could be a better option, but I did read the first edition, so I can't say about this one.

There are a lot of resources. But take in consideration this, UX is more about user research, people tend to confuse it with UI design (You probably see a lot of UI/UX designer) but in reality are totally different disciplines, although still it's pretty common see both linked.

EDIT: I did a little research and found this article from Invision talking precisely about UX misconceptions.

Collapse
 
anfossistudio profile image
AnfossiStudio

Thank You Very Much ❤❤❤