DEV Community

Cover image for How I got nominated for a Webby Award
Dustin Brett
Dustin Brett

Posted on

How I got nominated for a Webby Award

I'm very happy to announce that my personal website has once again been nominated for a Webby Award!

My website is a desktop environment in the browser and I have made a video showing off some of it's features for those interested.

It's been a goal of mine to win a Webby for a few years now, since I started my side project over 3 years ago to build my personal website. I have continued to work on and improve my website almost daily now since Jan 2021.

Since creating my project I have entered it into most awards sites such as Awwwards, The FWA and CSS Design Awards and it's done decent, although not well enough to win top awards, but for me personally the Webby award has always been the one I wanted the most, so getting nominated again is exciting.

daedalOS Screenshot 2

One reason I consider it to be the top award is that they have a large judging staff and if you are nominated or win, you get an actual physical award. Also if you win then they have an award show which you can attend in New York City.

Most award sites now-a-days require an entry fee which I used to think was a pay-to-play system, and in a way it is, but there are real costs involved with having proper judging as well as awards so I do think that some fee is understandable. Luckily for the personal website category it is heavily discounted so I end up paying quite a bit less than most categories.

daedalOS Screenshot 1

I've spent a lot of time looking at the winners of these sites to try and find what makes them stand apart and to consider how I could add things to my project to be comparable to them. It's been a long journey of self discovery and looking inward to be able to see the flaws in my site and why other sites are picked over mine, and I have worked to try and change where possibly without compromising my vision for my personal website.

Now that I am nominated I have a chance to win by the judges voting but also I can win what they call the People's Voice Award which comes from votes from the community. So if you like my site and want to support me to win, please take a moment to vote for my site.

Thanks for checking out my project!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kiranmantha profile image
Kiran Mantha

Congratulations 🥳

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thank you!