DEV Community

Cover image for Day 427 : Lessons to Learn
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 427 : Lessons to Learn

liner notes:

  • Professional : Pretty full day. Had a couple of meetings. Worked on a demo to try and figure out what is happening with an SDK that being developed. Worked on the styling of some Web Components I created before. Been doing some research. I think I'm going to go with doing CSS parts to style the components. I've used CSS variables before, but I think I may use parts as a more straightforward approach to allowing the user to make the components look how they want, without having to know a bunch of variable names. We'll see how it goes.

  • Personal : Spent last night working on getting the media server up and running. Good news is that I was able to stream from my phone to an instance of the Node Media Server deployed on Google Cloud. The thing was, that it's deployed to Compute Engine and not App Engine. Even though I was able to get the static IP address assigned to it, set up load balancers and even got HTTPs via a Google managed certificate, I think App Engine only allows for HTTP traffic, so I couldn't get streaming to it via RTMP working. So as a list ditch effort, I set up a Virtual Machine (the one on the free tier) and got the application deployed and running. So much research, reading docs, comment threads, guides, tutorials and watching videos! At the end, I was able to get it working. Awesome. Now, the thing is that it's not HTTPs only HTTP. Node Media Server had some documentation on configuring HTTPs, but it was using a self signed certificate which browsers don't like. I thought I would be able to do the same thing a with the App Engine deployment and use the load balancer and stuff. Nope! So now, I'm thinking I'll have follow the Node Media Server config docs, but use the certificate generated from a browser trusted source like Let's Encrypt. Thing is that it only lasts for 90 days and then need to be regenerated again. There is a way for it to be automatically renewed though. I've done it for my GitLab instance, but don't remember how I did it. It was such a long time ago and a different application. I'm sure things have changed since then. haha Guess I'll be diving back into yet even more docs and researching!

View into a valley in Kalampaka, Greece with huge rock structures, a road and some buildings with more mountains in the distance

The goal is to get the security certificate generated and linked to the application so I can start getting HTTPs working so other video players can play the stream. So many lessons to learn, but I really enjoy it. This is one of the main reasons I've always stuck with coding. Coming up with ways to solve problems. If I have time, maybe sneak in an Anime and go through tracks for the radio show.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)