DEV Community

Cover image for Announcing my newsletter "Elm with Dwayne"
Dwayne Crooks
Dwayne Crooks

Posted on

Announcing my newsletter "Elm with Dwayne"

I'm excited to announce that I'm starting a newsletter called Elm with Dwayne.

Plan

My plan is to share all the knowledge I've gained over the course of 6 years of building web applications with Elm. Topics will include but will not be limited to:

  • Starting a new Elm project from scratch
  • Using Nix/Devbox to manage your local development environment
  • Structuring your folders and modules
  • Domain modeling
  • Thinking in Elm
  • Styling with Dart Sass
  • Type-driven view design and BEM
  • Writing reusable views
  • Using web components
  • Working with forms and handling form validation
  • Working with ports
  • Authentication
  • Writing tests
  • Writing benchmarks
  • Writing Bash scripts to manage your workflows
  • Deploying your project with Git to a variety of services including GitHub, Netlify, and Render
  • Library development best practices
  • How I built X
  • Building interpreters
  • Building decentralized applications (Dapps)

The newsletter will go out at least once to at most four times per month.

Goal

My goal is to help web developers learn Elm so that they can build web applications that are reliable, easy to maintain, well-tested, scalable, performant, and delightful to use.

If someone hires you to build a web application they don't care if the features they request require beginner, intermediate, or advanced level knowledge of Elm. They only care if you can build the features for them. Otherwise, they'd simply find someone else who can. I want to teach you how to use Elm so that you're able to build any feature that can be built with any other front-end technology.

My background in web development

Prior to discovering Elm I worked about 7 years as a full stack web developer for a handful of companies in various industries building websites and web applications using a variety of technologies and web frameworks. With regards to the front-end, I worked with no framework (i.e. plain HTML, CSS, and JavaScript), jQuery, Backbone.js, early versions of AngularJS, Ember.js, and React with Redux.

When I got my first taste of Elm I was hooked because I finally found a language that fit my brain which also had practical use in my web development career. You can learn more about my journey to Elm in episode 55 of Elm Town.

What I've done with Elm

I started learning Elm about 5 years ago. My approach was to take existing projects and tutorials developed for other front-end web frameworks and figure out how to build them using Elm. As my skill improved I revisited the projects countless times in order to improve upon the quality of the code. Everything I know about Elm comes from my time spent working on these web applications and libraries.

Web apps

Libraries

Published

Unpublished

Work

  • Real Folk's website.
  • Qonstant - A decentralized, order-style, fixed-rate money market where you can lend and borrow USDC and ETH at fixed rates on Arbitrum One.
  • Qoda DAO - A decentralized autonomous organization (DAO) where you can govern and earn rewards.

Subscribe

If you're interested in improving your skills with Elm then I invite you to subscribe to my newsletter, Elm with Dwayne.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jxxcarlson profile image
James Carlson

Dwayne, I've followed your work with great admiration and am really looking forward to your newsletter.

— Jim (jxxcarlson)

Collapse
 
dwayne profile image
Dwayne Crooks

Oh wow, thanks James. I really appreciate your comment, that means a lot.