DEV Community

Cover image for freeCodeCamp's Random Quote Machine project built in Elm
Dwayne Crooks
Dwayne Crooks

Posted on • Updated on

freeCodeCamp's Random Quote Machine project built in Elm

freeCodeCamp has a nice collection of projects that they describe for you to build to improve your front-end development skills.

Since I want to get better at building web apps with Elm, I thought I'd tackle them one by one.

I recently completed the Random Quote Machine project which I thought I'd share with you all.

Here's my demo and you can find the code for it here.

If you read the code you will learn the following:

  • How to deal with randomness.
  • How to fetch JSON data and decode it.
  • How to build URLs.
  • How to use CSS transitions to enhance an Elm app.

Exposure to high quantity, high quality examples of expertise is one of the two main factors that dictate how quickly and effectively people learn new skills. (The other is deliberate practice.) ~ Kathy Sierra, Badass: Making Users Awesome

In the future I may write a step by step tutorial about it. Show some love if you'd like that. :)

Top comments (0)