DEV Community

Cover image for My learnings from making a Gatsby Starter
Ema Suriano
Ema Suriano

Posted on • Originally published at emasuriano.com

My learnings from making a Gatsby Starter

A few weeks ago I published my first starter for Gatsby and I want to share some tips I learn along with the whole experience.

As many starters in Gatsby, it began as a Personal portfolio. After I published it and share it on Twitter, people asked me if it was Open Source or published somewhere. My reaction at the beginning was saying “No”, but after more inquires came I changed my answer to a “Maybe it will!”.

Technically the project was “Open-source” because it was hosted in Github, but it was not configurable at all. All the data was hardcoded with information about me …

Instead of helping developers, I was providing an awful experience for anyone who doesn’t know about the project and had to *guess *where **to change the code.

It was at this point when I considered creating a Gatsby Starter, and simplify the setup of the portfolio for anyone. My goal was to achieve a 2 minutes Setup with defined steps!

#1. Make it attractive for developers 💅

Excited

You should see your starter as a page you are selling to developers or someone with at least some technical. So you have to make it attractive ✨ For that, I follow these 3 rules:

Make it work.

Make it fast.

Make it pretty.

Make it work is for making your app actually functional and without any bugs or exceptions. Fortunately, I had this rule almost covered because my page was already working without any issues.

A good tip is to write down a list with all the features your starter has. So developers can take a quick glance at what it’s inside without reading any codebase. 👍

Make it fast remains for building an application with overall good performance. Achieving this point with Gatsby it’s not that hard, because Static Sites are already fast out of the box.

For measuring the overall performance of my applications I like to use Google Lighthouse, which gives you a report with statistics of different aspects of your application, like performance, accessibility, PWA, and more 👍

Make it pretty, this rule can be explained with this phrase:

If an application looks bad or if it doesn’t support my screen then I won’t use it.

Yes, it’s that simple! You have to provide something that looks attractive to others and also responsive, which in my opinion is a MUST in the current web development state.

I strongly recommend using any design system with built-in components. They will allow you to move faster and also ensure that your application has some sort of design concept behind. Behind every design system, a whole team took the time to think about how the Spacing should be, Color Palette, Font, Responsiveness, and many many more.

In case you don’t know where to find a good Design System, I recommend the website Design System Repo. It’s a curated list of design systems, in which most of them provide also a component library to use too 👍

#2. Avoid hardcoding Personal Information 🤷‍♂️

When I looked into the codebase of my pages it was easy to detect a mix between component structure and information about me. A quick example was the About Me page, which looked like this:

The old snippet of About Me

The solution was “easy”, all the information has to come from other resources, and fortunately doing that with Gatsby is incredibly easy, thanks to Source Plugins. You can connect your application with an external resource and then your components can directly access the data from them.

I decided to go for Contentful as my CMS (Content Management System), mainly because the Free Plan allows you to have up to 2 Contentful Spaces for free!

The first step is to create a Content Model where you can declare the structure of the data about the owner of the portfolio.

Content Model for About me

After that, I created a new Content for the About Content Model with some pre-existing values. I did this to provide an example of how it should look when you fill all your information, and also because without data the Section is completely empty …

The code of About Me section will look something like:

The snippet of About me

By doing this, the person who wants to change information about himself doesn’t have to look into the component structure, just change the information stored inside Contentful

#3. Provide a Quick Setup 🚀

This is a crucial step if you want to encourage people to start using it. As a maintainer, you have to provide simple steps to get up and run the starter.

Inside the official documentation of Gatsby, they recommend bootstrapping starters by running the gatsby new command. It will create a new folder, copy the Starter codebase, and install all the dependencies.

The setup might change depending on the tools you picked to build your starter. In my case, as I used Contentful as the data provider I had to how to create your own Space with the same Content Model and Content.

These are the steps for my starter:

    # Create new folder with the content of the starter
    > gatsby new mate-portfolio [https://github.com/EmaSuriano/gatsby-starter-mate](https://github.com/EmaSuriano/gatsby-starter-mate) 

    # Setup for the CMS
    > yarn setup 

    # Start local server
    > yarn develop
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

#4. Add it to the official Gatsby starters list 📦

This might be the easiest but most gratifying step, which is basically sharing with the community!

For any who doesn’t know, Gatsby has a list of all the starters inside its website, and people (me included) go there looking for the starters. This step is like registering a domain of your website so it can be discoverable by users in Google.

The way to add your starter is just by opening a pull request to the Gatsby repository and editing the file starters.yml where you write a brief description and the URL for the starter.

    - url: Link to a demo of your starter
      repo: Link to GitHub repo
      description: Your starter description

      # These correspond to the category filters in the library
      # Make an effort to use the existing tags, and add more if needed!
      tags:
        - Redux

      # Add your site features
      # These will be included on your starter's detail page.
      features:
        - Blog post listing with previews (image + summary) for each blog post
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After your pull request is merged, you’ll be able to see as a new entry of the showcase. Here you can see mine!

Gatsby Starter Mate in Gatsby

PRO TIP: Gatsby gives “free swag” to any contributor (they have a shop where you can pick for free some stuff and deliver it to your home), which is the best way to show gratitude to developers, thank you so much Gatsby 🎉

Last words 👋

In the beginning, I found the process very annoying because basically my website was still the “same”, but I have to admit that I learned a lot. And finally, I can give something back to the community that helped so much 😄

One more thing before you leave, I decided to start a newsletter so in case you want to hear about what I’m posting please consider following it! No SPAM, no hiring, no application marketing, just tech posts 👌
Link to my Newsletter

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sohel1718 profile image
sohel1718

sadasd