DEV Community

Cover image for Hello, World!
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

Posted on

Hello, World!

gif alt text

As DEV's first Business Development Manager, I'm here to enhance the team’s sales and account management apparatus, build processes to support our growing suite of community-first sponsorship options, and become the main point of contact with our partners. If you are interested in supporting DEV as a sponsor, advertising in our podcasts, discussing a custom campaign (hackathon, etc.), or are looking for other ways to engage with the DEV community, email me at emiliano@dev.to.

More about me:

This year has been unreal —various unpredictable events, along with countless challenges that, for the first time, made me feel as if we all are under the same rooftop, staring at the same clouds during the day and gazing at the same stars during the night. This year forced upon the world a wave of change, and it also helped me seek to grow, which is why I'm thrilled to join DEV!

Why DEV

I read that most DEV members are fueled by cold-brew, like myself, so I had to find like-minded people...

Jokes aside, since 2015, I've been fascinated by developer communities. Mostly through the work of Pieter Hintjens, regarding online communities and "Social Architecture," I became aware of the vast volume of exchange on the field. Unlike any other profession, developers are always engaged in an infinite loop of learning, engaging, creating, and distributing, traits that I admire.

Having collaborated with developers on-site, while sitting next to each other on yoga balls, and remotely through video-tools, my fascination and admiration has only increased. By joining DEV as their first sales-focused hire, I'm able to pursue what I find meaningful and what makes me happy. I'm feeling lucky, honored, and ready.

Outside of work:

I am a self-proclaimed chocolate connoisseur, beer aficionado, and PUBG gamer ex·tra·or·di·naire that has been working remotely since 2017. My goal in life is to keep on learning, and I recently enrolled in Udacity's intro to programming Nanodegree to further strengthen my understanding of this space.

When I'm not by my desk getting some work done, you can find me brewing coffee, walking my dog Nino, hiking, gaming, or traveling around.

Got any questions for me? Fire when ready!

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hello 😄

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Hello World, I mean, Emiliano~

Welcome to DEV~

Collapse
 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

hahahaha hello!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Captain America saluting

Collapse
 
reobin profile image
Robin Gagnon

beer aficionado

Mejor cerveza mexicana? :)

Collapse
 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

ufff difícil - commercial: Modelo - ambar & negra. Artisanal-wise: Minerva Viena.
Tequila: tequila 8, and Don Julio 70
Mezcal: try ojo de tiger for something refreshing

Collapse
 
reobin profile image
Robin Gagnon

Buenas elecciones! A mi me gano la Modelo negra cuando fui a Mexico.

Bienvenido Emiliano!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

So happy you are here! Welcome!!!

Collapse
 
lexplt profile image
Alexandre Plt

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
stef4nutz profile image
stephen

👋

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Welcome to the team Emiliano! :-))

Collapse
 
coffeecraftcode profile image
Christina Gorton

Excited to work with you Emiliano!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

So happy to have you on the team, Emiliano! ☕️

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Really awesome to have you on the team, Emiliano!

Collapse
 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

hahaha great match indeed - hola amigo!

 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

I spent days playing battlefront 2 - it will go into the history books. waiting for the day that something similar takes the crown

Collapse
 
ataherinmobly profile image
sekab

Welcomee (A)

Collapse
 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

holaa

Collapse
 
mathcpepper profile image
Matheus

Sup man,

What's your favorite beer so far? :)

Welcome to DEV.

Collapse
 
emilianorwyler profile image
Emiliano Rodríguez-Wyler

Hey ya,
A long time ago I tried a beer in Germany called Gaffel Koelsch... Recently I drink Modelo Ambar, and when possible, I ask for stout or IPAs fresh from the draft.