DEV Community

Estefania Morton
Estefania Morton

Posted on

Nevertheless, Estefania Morton Coded

I began coding because...

I wanted to make the world work better, this is why I decided to major in Sociology, and also why I decided to leave it two years into the course. I realized, that as much as I love Sociology, my school's program was not giving me what I needed so I decided to leave the course and begin coding. I decided to code, because if my goal is to make the world work better, why not join the field that is deciding all the changes?

I'm currently hacking on...

I just deployed a project that I worked on together with two friends. It is a chrome extension called Oblik, which serves up related articles from different news sources when you are on a page with an article. It let's you know the usual political orientation of the article's source, and we made our best to serve news from different political perspectives, so that the user could easily see different points of views.

https://oblik.us/

I'm excited about...

I just graduated, so I am really excited about all the cool stuff I will be able to make.

My message for other women who code is...

I was born and raised in one of the most sexist cities of a very sexist country. So I think I understand pretty well that feeling some of us women get, where you just feel like maybe your brain was not wired for a job like this... if everybody is saying it, it must be true, right? This stereotypes I think, are what have affected me most, these are what made me go from a mathlete when I was 14, to thinking I could never become an engineer when I was 18. Until a few months ago, that I actually tried software engineering and realized it was something I was really good at, I decided to make these stereotypes my fuel, and I invite every female coder to do the same thing too. We need to be more visible in the field so that future generations of female coders never get the feeling that maybe their brain was not wired for the job.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pwd9000 profile image
Marcel.L

Hey Estefania!
What an inspirational post and also good luck with your own journey and creating this amazing Chrome extension. It is so cool
Looking forward to some more amazing posts and projects :)