DEV Community

Cover image for Jessie and friends. Introduction to Git for beginners.
Roman Mahotskyi
Roman Mahotskyi

Posted on

Jessie and friends. Introduction to Git for beginners.

I recently wrote a short book aimed at people who are starting to learn Git.

In that Book I tried to deviate from the standard approach, where each Git command (or group of commands) is described in a separate article and, for the most part, paraphrases the official documentation.

Instead, I tried to create a story or adventure where the reader can help the main characters of the book (Jessie, Boopi and others) achieve their goals with the help of Git commands. I don't know how well I did, so I would like to ask you for feedback.

The book is divided into 16 chapters and covers the most basic interactions with Git: creating and modifying commits, creating and merging branches, as well as resolving merge conflicts, stashing files, reverting changes, and more.

If you don't know what a Git is yet, then this is the best time to get acquainted with it.

Here is a link to the GitHub repository where you can find the download links in three formats: mobi, pdf and epub.

I hope you're having a good time with Jessie, yes, Jessie?

Woof!

Top comments (0)