DEV Community

Jesus Enmanuel De La Cruz
Jesus Enmanuel De La Cruz

Posted on

Which OS do you use?

I'm a windows user but I want to change it, I try several Linux distribution like Ubuntu, Debian, OpenSUSE, Deepin, etc...

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
mhatvan profile image
Markus Hatvan

I use Ubuntu 20.04 and Windows 10 dual-boot for desktop PC and have a macOS laptop :P
I am sure it can be helpful for a job or else to be familiar with all three major operating systems.

Apart from that, I can also recommend Arch Linux and Linux Manjaro.

I hope that helps you with your decision!

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I have been using Debian for a month now, it's been nice. I had to use the image with the "non-free firmware" but that was just a small detail. Every package I needed was in the official repositories, that made the setup easy. I did had to spend some time (1 hour) to customize the desktop environment, because the default settings were just horrible. Now that everything is installed and have a nice theme for the desktop, I no longer feel the need to look for another OS.

Collapse
 
titanhero profile image
Lex

I was using Xubuntu, very cool.

Collapse
 
enmanuel97 profile image
Jesus Enmanuel De La Cruz

I decided to use Ubuntu, it has everything I need for now, my development stack is easy to install so I think I'm going to love Ubuntu

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

I used to have it and I liked that it's so ubiquitous that it's easy to find help specific to it. I believe it has its own StackExchange site, unlike most distributions (mind you, in most cases, Q&As apply to most distributions).

Collapse
 
titanhero profile image
Lex

Yeah will gonna love Ubuntu😉😁👍✌️

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

macOS user here why do you want to change? I am considering Windows again because I like to game on my computer.

Collapse
 
enmanuel97 profile image
Jesus Enmanuel De La Cruz

Well I'm tired of windows xD and I'm not a pc gamer I use my ps4 to play

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

PS4 is my main driver as well for playing games. I just wish there were more RTS games to play on consoles because I enjoy playing those games too. Computers are still best for that you just can't beat a mouse and a keyboard.

Collapse
 
abdellatifdev profile image
abdellatif.dev

Windows has some serious vulnerabilities you should consider that

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Every OS has some form of vulnerabilities and Windows is still #1 for gaming on computers.

Thread Thread
 
abdellatifdev profile image
abdellatif.dev

Linux is better a lot less vulnerable ,

Collapse
 
creativcoder profile image
creativcoder

I've been using endeavouros.com with i3 for over 3 months now. You can give that a try!

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

macOS, Windows 10 (work laptop + Azure VM + Parallels VM on my Mac), Windows 7 (if I have to remote in to the tower at the office) and Linux Mint.

Collapse
 
abdellatifdev profile image
abdellatif.dev

Kali Linux with xanmod2 costume kernel, awesome window manager fully customised