DEV Community

Cover image for Defining my path
Ekemini Samuel
Ekemini Samuel

Posted on

Defining my path

Dev community,

I first had interest in tech (coding) about 3 years ago, then I had started learning HTML and python through Youtube videos and some coding apps. I made a post earlier in March, which talked about documenting my learning journey which would in turn make me accountable and more consistent with practicing.
Well, that didn't turn out so good cause I have not made any reasonable progress so far.
I've been thinking...probably this tech field isn't for me because I have tried every method I know of, even paid for courses.
But deep down, I still have interest in building a career in the tech field and also work on great projects.
I believe someone here would have a different perspective and probably enlighten me on a better way to go about this.
Thank you in advance.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

Hi, the first question is "What do I love to do?" why? Because if you do what you love, your work doesn't feel like a job; it's your passion and makes you feel happy when you're working on it.

When I decided to be a developer or work on development, I felt a bit shy, and I had a lot of questions about how it will be. Still, after a few courses looking for my "sweet spot," I decided to be a generalyst developer, so I like doing frontend (except CSS); I love backend and embedded systems. So now I'm working as PM, and I love programming, but I'm facing the same doubts as you have: Do I study Data Analyst or Data Science?.

Keep going, and share your journey; many people have the same doubts about their path, but reading about how the people will continue -or not- will help them to be more confident. =)

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Hi Dennis, thanks so much for your insight!
The answer to the first question is "I love being able to write code and build". But I'm at that stage where I haven't really learnt it. What methods did you apply when learning?

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

Mmm.... everyone has different ways of learning and understanding abstract ideas (i.e., stacks, queues, etc.). I used the following ideas:

  1. Decide what to learn in X weeks (3 weeks seems fine to me).
  2. Choose primary and secondary mechanisms: videos on YouTube or online courses
  3. One day at a time: if I'm learning about algorithms, try to apply them in a project or real world.
  4. Summarize where is the reference (i.e., I've learned about OOP concepts, where is sawed the idea? write it in a paper or a Keep note, or whatever you want)
  5. Advance one idea, go back to the past: try to apply the past content in this lecture or video (i.e., I've learned about queues, how can I implement using arrays?)
  6. Be organized, you will see a lot of videos or have lectures from courses, but your taking note system will be your knowledge base...
  7. DON'T TRY TO MEMORIZE
  8. SERIOUSLY, DON'T TRY! it's better to understand the language or concepts instead of memorizing all functions in a language: you'll have a great language reference in the docs :)
  9. Don't try to learn all things! Seriously, others "don't try," but if you feel bad and don't understand all things about X, don't get down: it's better to understand a little -but relevant- a piece of information instead of many ideas without enough understanding.
  10. Keep going; learning is about you and how you'll use your new superpowers!

I'm currently learning English (isn't my mother language), and I'm trying to improve everyday to take new courses. One day at time :)

Thread Thread
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Wow! This is very comprehensive, I would be applying these methods in my learning. Thank you.

I'm currently learning basics of frontend web development (HTML, CSS, JS), and in 3 weeks I should have a small project I've worked on.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
seif_sekalala_81e09fe6b9e profile image
Seif Sekalala

And here’s a link to another large learner’s group on Discord; I can bet you my left pinky finger, that some learners on there are just like: seemingly slow, but very passionate about coding! Link (to Discord group): discord.gg/programming

Thread Thread
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Thanks a lot for this Seif!

Thread Thread
 
seif_sekalala_81e09fe6b9e profile image
Seif Sekalala

Welcome!