DEV Community

Cover image for Exploring Computer Graphics: Weekly Chronicle #5
Eric Buitrón López
Eric Buitrón López

Posted on • Originally published at eric-buitron.hashnode.dev

Exploring Computer Graphics: Weekly Chronicle #5

Overview

Hello everyone, it's been a while since the last weekly chronicle. I've had a busy couple of weeks while closing the year. Here's the progress that I've made in the past few weeks!

My Journey into Computer Graphics

I halted for a moment the meshes project to focus on doing readings that related to my progress in my journey into OpenGL. I read the following chapters from my resources for this project:

  • Linear algebra

  • Transformation matrices

  • A camera model

  • Viewing

  • Tone reproduction

  • Data structures for graphics

My Journey into OpenGL

The focus of these past weeks was setting up cameras. First, I followed the cameras tutorial of Learn OpenGL.

The first part that I did was applying a projection matrix to the container.

Then, I converted the container into a cube and added depth testing.

I then added several cubes and applied rotation transformations to them.

After that, I played with the camera circling around the cubes.

With all of this setup done, I added the code to have a camera that you can move and rotate around the scene.

In the Udemy course I followed basically the same steps and ended up with this:

My Journey into Shaders

For this project I watched all the videos regarding the use of math functions for shaders. I learned how they can be used to create different effects in shaders. I also added the shader that I made with the Introduction to Shader Art Coding tutorial in Godot and in Unity.

Here's how it looks in Godot:

And here's how it looks in Unity:

For some reason, in Unity the animation moves painstakingly slow. I'm not sure if it's a performance problem or if it's something else but for now the goal was just to show that the same shader can be used in any engine.

See you next year!

With the year coming to an end, it's time to spend some time with the family and relax a bit. This is going to be my last blog post of the year. I'll see you next year with these goals for the first week of January:

  • My Journey into Computer Graphics: Continue where I left off in the meshes project.

  • My Journey into OpenGL: Complete the texture mapping videos in the Udemy course and the colors tutorial in LearnOpenGL.

  • My Journey into Shaders: Learn about shader performance, shaders coding style and start the algorithmic drawing chapters from The Book of Shaders.

With all of this out of the way, I wish everyone Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!

Top comments (0)