DEV Community

Eric The Coder
Eric The Coder

Posted on

Choosing a framework. What if it was your instincts that made the decision?

Recently I published a series of posts on the choice I had to make between three backend frameworks. Django (python), Rails (ruby) or Laravel (php)?

Once I had analyzed all the options I was still hesitating between going with my head or going with my heart?

What if it was neither but my instincts that would make the decision?

I had the idea to do a mini project in each of the three firmware. This mini project would have the particularity that I have to complete it as quickly as possible. So no time to think, just let my instincts do the work.

That's exactly what I did and the result is very surprising...

I was hesitating between Laravel (my head) and Rails (my heart). And guess what? It’s Django who won the instinct test. Under pressure and without having time to think it over, it was with Django that I had the best performance. The code came out easier, more naturally, and faster. It’s like there’s a natural fit between me and Django / Python.

Surprising but very interesting. It completely calls into question my decision ...

While waiting to decide my fate, I ask you the question. If you would have to make a project under pressure, quickly and almost no time to think, which programming language / framework do you think you would be the most productive?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kamo profile image
KAIDI

It depends on your preference here, all the three are good, every Framework has its pros and cons

Collapse
 
ericchapman profile image
Eric The Coder

Exactly. This is my ultimate conclusion too. Those 3 framework are different but at the same time very similar. More similar than different. Everything you can do in one., you can do in the other. It’s basically the same thing but build with a different programming language.