DEV Community

Eric The Coder
Eric The Coder

Posted on

Most React course obsolete?

I want to start a React course but almost all React courses seem to cover the class base component and only at the end of the course quickly cover hook in a bonus section.

My understanding is that now in 2020 hook is the way to go?

I am wondering if learning class base component still important in 2020?

It is me or a course that focus mainly on hook will be better?

Or maybe it is me that dont understand the difference well and overthink?

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
jamesroyston profile image
James

Knowing both is wise. You’re going to develop new components the functional way, but that doesn’t mean you won’t run into class based components (unless the codebase you’re working in is less than two years old since hooks were announced in 2018).

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

You need to know BOTH. Many projects use legacy code (class syntax) so you need to understand how it works so that you can refactor it. This course is good I would recommend that you get it React - The Complete Guide (incl Hooks, React Router, Redux)

Collapse
 
bcowley1220 profile image
Brendan Cowley

The following link is the course that I did, and I felt that it was very thorough covering both class based components and hooks. One of the things that people don't really like to talk about that often... companies don't like to spend the time/money to refactor code into current standards. Some do, and that's great, but there are a lot out there that embrace "it's not broken don't touch it" thing.

I would encourage you to learn both. Start with classes, master the basics, move on to hooks. While some will fuss about "it's a waste of time...", just wait until you run into a class based mess or have to convert legacy into current.

udemy.com/course/react-the-complet...

Collapse
 
killianfrappartdev profile image
Killian Frappart

A react course that does not cover class based components can't call itself a "complete" course. It is hard to find a good quality react hooks course out there, if you are willing to pay I recommend Academind or Mosh Hamedani.

Collapse
 
divinopudim profile image
Dial J For Jorge

I´ve just finished this one: youtube.com/watch?v=4UZrsTqkcW4&t=....
It´s my second React course and only focus on functional components and hooks

Collapse
 
ericchapman profile image
Eric The Coder

Thank for the link. Exactly what I was looking for. Just watch the first hour and it look promising.

Collapse
 
ericchapman profile image
Eric The Coder • Edited

I watch the second hour early this morning and this course is crazy good. The author really take the time to explain everything. It is not just a code along video. The author teach concept one by one baby step. And last but not least it only cover functional component with hook and that a bit simpler for me to start. Thanks again for the share.

Thread Thread
 
divinopudim profile image
Dial J For Jorge

No problems. I am glad you liked

Collapse
 
kj6995 profile image
Kushagra Jain • Edited

I myself am a starter and was having trouble on how to start with react, as most of the courses were outdated. What worked for me was first going through class components and life cycle component basics like componentdidmount and componentdidupdate. Thereafter moving to hooks as you will then only able to appreciate what hooks brings to the table.

Start with the below series if you want to and then work on some projects.

Youtube link for raft course series: youtube.com/playlist?list=PLC3y8-r...

I would highly recommend to work on a lot of projects to get a good grasp on concepts.

Collapse
 
amlana24 profile image
amlan

Though hooks are the way to go now..there are still codes in various companies using class base as they have not converted to hooks for different reasons. So learning both ways is a good idea.

Collapse
 
ericchapman profile image
Eric The Coder

Thanks all for the feedback. I am a freelancer so I have to deal only with my code. I think for now, to keep thing simple, I will go for a hook only tutorial.

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem

I recently started a new job. They have a well established project full of class components. Learning/knowing them is important. In the end, they're really not that different

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

Hooks are the way to go, learning class components will only cost you time for nothing.

Collapse
 
tehaisperlis profile image
Hazmi Irfan

Agree. It also makes it hard for you to learn hooks afterwards. It's better you learn hooks without thinking it's a 1-1 replacement for class components.

Collapse
 
alexsvt2 profile image
Alexis López

scrimba.com/learn/reactmovie

you should try this course, is recent