DEV Community

Cover image for The Feynman Technique
Yermakhan Sabyrzhan
Yermakhan Sabyrzhan

Posted on

The Feynman Technique

Hello here and this is me, Yermakhan. You can simply call me Moha, I'm student who felt in love with digital world and can't resist to explore it. You can consider this post as an intro to all other posts.

If you can't explain something to a first year student, then you haven't really understood.
~ Richard P. Feynman.

I guess you're already familiar with the famous lectures and quotes by Richard Feynman, so as you might have guessed, I'm going to use his technique. And it's pretty simple! Firstly, you choose the subject, you're studying and then try to explain it in pretty simple words to another person. If this person reacts with the questions, try to answer and then you can find the gaps you should relearn.

The next topics are all for drafts and abstracts by myself for you, my reader. I'm gonna study computer science and software engineering topics at all. So I hope you will get something helpful and do not forget to react! goodbye!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rydwhelchel profile image
Ryan Whelchel

Always loved quotes like this. The version I always recite is "You don't really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother." I feel that it is similar to "rubber duck debugging" in that attempting to explain it to someone who doesn't understand much allows you to deepen your own understanding.

I didn't know who this was attributed to, I'll check out Feynman's other stuff!