DEV Community

Ernst03
Ernst03

Posted on

From Hobbyist programmer to a Physics Project worker?

Hello friends.

I am of the age where the Government starts sending me checks. A minimum guaranteed income of sorts.
So in my 20s' I knew what I liked at once when I opened the box on a brand new TI-99 4a and read the included booklet on TI BASIC
The booklet included with that Texas Instruments home computer, introduced me to iterative functions in the BASIC way that many in my age group started off with.
It was called a for-loop. It doesn't get any simpler then that. The fact that logic and other "stuff" could be done inside this loop was the North-Star of my programming life.
So, as a semi-retiree I'm looking at a mathematical object discovered along this life's way with following one's North-Star and I realize that it spins to-and-fro. DUO demonstrates the properties of full-spin and half-spin under logic operations with appropriate bit-position observation.
So, friends, the path before me, is that the object can be considered a "point-Particle" "With Benefits" (pun intended).
I ask this community if anyone knows of any mathematical object that can be our "Point-Particle-Object" of Physics lore.
I was rather good at Community College level Algebra and I sure reached for the Moon when writing my paper but I never fancied myself a student of Physics proper. This is where the age of the Internet will be of help for my generation. We have access to a knowledge base today that was in the realm of Science-Fiction in the days of my childhood.
So, this is part story and part introduction for me here on DEV.
The Story is of one man who was a wide eyed boy living his life who has been living the dream he saw on the original run of Star-Trek with Spock and the Onboard Computer. So Cool! So young...
First off, I an very happy to be among those who are the young and who have their best in hand, looking towards their own "North-Stars.", I like that a lot. The (Creative) Muse has a young love. That is for sure. An Aside: I believe in the Muse!

So this spinning mathematical object has properties and, I hope to see it made into a open-source project because at the heart of the mathematics the object is a datatype and a kind of number. It sure looks like a candidate for a point particle.
Numbers cannot be patented and so open-source seems right. Your thoughts?

So, friends being a green sprout here and also having a Developer coming-out with the planned first public project, I welcome your comments, fellowship and guidance. It may be a wonderful adventure and we all need those.
Consider this a story proper except it is not finite in the classic sense.
Honestly, I am not sure how DEV intends the flow of activity to go so guidance on that is welcome too.

The object I am referring to is Dynamic Unary Object (DUO)

Hey, Gotta get it done before I die "ya-know!" :)

To start I kick off with Github; is it the right move to start with?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

As I mentioned, I am familiar with the blog-style postings. That is what this is.

So as an entry in the blog-style, I have come to understand that I should learn the RUST language.
I missed the whole C++ and other OOP evolution so if I am understanding what I have read, watched and heard, then RUST is a systems level rated programming language and RUST promises that code written today will compile in the future. Plus I believe I will be learning OOP too.
Also in something called CONGO there is a Git like system for project management. I need to learn that new trick as an old dog too.
So far, I am taking RUST coding baby steps with a wonderful online site I also ordered a book from Amazon.
All this change seems to be the right direction to go in. So far RUST appears to be a replacement for what I have known with C and GMP.
RUST is supposed to be helpful with the freeing memory and a few other things.
There is one bit of wisdom in all this. Things change and at times I must change too.
So... A small delay while I re-tool this machine but no one could assume it could all be accomplished in a short time anyway.

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

Hey there! I read your post about your idea for an open-source project and I think it's great that you're following your passion. Just remember, anything and everything can be an open-source project, so as long as you have the drive and dedication to see it through.

In terms of platforms, Github is a popular choice for hosting open-source projects and getting feedback from the community. However, I understand that there are some concerns about data use from Microsoft, especially with the recent Copilot controversy. If you prefer to explore other options, you might want to consider platforms like Bitbucket (which is owned by Atlassian) or GitLab (which is open-source itself).

Ultimately, the choice is yours and it's important to find a platform that you feel comfortable using and that aligns with your values. Good luck with your project, and I can't wait to see what you create!

Also come and say hi in our welcome thread!

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

I looked at all three you suggested.
I believe Github will work alright.
I plan to get started this weekend.

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

Yep!
I have a thing or two to expose myself to. That is "fur-sure."
I'm surfing your links.
Thanks.

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

I have a correction. It CARGO not Congo .

It is wonderful weather here in Southern Illinois and the grass is growing and growing so it's mowing and mowing.
As I have said I tend to Blog a bit to keep things current and this will be an addition to that theme.

I have been learning about Rust and Cargo plus I am now looking into MarkDown language. I think it will provide formatting for Code and Comments. I still need to read more on that.
About Dynamic Unary. It is fair to say, from my point of view, that adding a new datatype ( aka Number) to our set of datatype(s) may not be accepted by many for a long time. That is okay because it's not a popularity contest nor is it up to folks to approve. It exists and that is that. I did have an experience on another site where one person did their best to encourage me to stop, drop and fughetaboutit. I simply don't understand the scientific motivation of that.

So, in truth, the sun shines and it is hard to stay indoors as much as during the cold and wintry weather. We all need that vitamin D after all.

I welcome your comments on Dynamic Unary. I do understand 98% of folks need a usable and link-able library plus excellent documentation so that is the primary goal here for the rest of this year.

In the future we may find DUOs' as common in program paradigm constructs as any other datatype and perhaps DOU will be the most exciting datatype we have.

I shall update and "Keep-Alive" this thread.

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

Well friends,
I only know adding to a thread. I am new here so this is all I have known. The running-blog style.
This weekend I will make the initial Github entry. One more day of work to go.

My questions for people ( about particles ) have been, can a mathematical object be a particle.
It took a bit of time for me to think it through because I am not classically trained in Physics and if we are just fine with the (proverbial) "Point-Particle" of physics lore, and we embue that mathematical object with qualities and the hues of particle physics, then I see no reason that dynamic unary can't be a point-particle.
DUO offers natural coding constructs. Also there is no reason aditional qualities such as mass, can't be assigned.

So Point-Particle with benefits is the motto.

And as one person once said "Damn the Torpedoes."

Another thing someone once said to me and I believe it's true more often than not in the realm of some levels of online academia , is, "It's never a good idea until it is someone else's."

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

Wow.
There are complexities to Github, Gitlab and Bitbucket.
I am not familiar with how to do a project. I'm going to need to see how this is supposed to work. I am a simple hobbyist coder who is into Binary Codecs. I discovered dynamic unary encoding in 2010.

So there is choosing a site people can download from. I see there are differences and they all seem very advanced to me at this time.
I'll have to study what they are talking about and what the files are for that I see in repositories.
I'm inexperienced in managing a project other than the current code I work on here in a private directory so, it is intimidating when reading about those top-notch systems used to manage a project that are promoted.
The right licensing needs to be applied. That I will look into next.
What a challenge.

The first goal is to provide an include library so folks have the access to the dynamic unary datatype and everything I can think of related to the datatype dynamic unary object.
I am sure things will grow organically. After all it's a new kind of number so what's not to like!
If this idea of this dynamic unary object as a "point-particle" proves to be useful to enough people I will hope others will, in time, want to contribute to that aspect and advancement however, there is work to do just to get a foundation done.
Well, who is going to do it if I don't?
That is what I see for the goals currently.
The truth about project management is that I'll have to learn sometime so "As they say in Temporal Mechanics.. There is no time like the present."

It's exciting.