DEV Community

Emmeline
Emmeline

Posted on

My First Complex Cloud Project

Hello everyone,

New to the AWS Cloud world, I am building my first complex cloud project !
I started with the classic beginner cloud project : Hosting a static website on AWS S3 for my personal portfolio.

I feel ready to tackle a more challenging and complex project.
This is the pitch : a secret Santa website where a user gives a list of participants and their respective emails.
Then each participant receives an email with the identity of the person they should offer a gift to :)
Yes, I started working on this project in December last year :D

This application will (hopefully) include :

  • Serverless (Lambda, DynamoDB, APIGateway)
  • CI/CD for dev and prod environments (GitHub, CodePipeline)
  • Authentification (Cognito)
  • IaC (CloudFormation)
  • Static website hosting (S3, CloudFront, Route53)

Here is a first draft of the architecture.

architecture

I will document this project here :)
Feel free to ask questions or give advices.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
nathan_tarbert profile image
Nathan Tarbert

Hey @esuivant, this sounds interesting and I'm eager to hear how your progress goes. I'm curious, have you heard of Wing, the open source cloud-oriented programming language?

If Wing can help you as far as ease of deployment, and local testing, I'd be super interested to hear your feedback.

Collapse
 
esuivant profile image
Emmeline

Hey Nathan,
It is the first time I hear of Wing and it sounds amazing. Thank you for sharing :)
But for this project, I want to manipulate AWS objects and I do not wish for a higher level of abstraction.

Collapse
 
loftydroid profile image
Ahmed Shaikh

Congratulations on embarking on your first complex cloud project! Your choice to build a secret Santa website sounds both festive and challenging—perfect for expanding your AWS skills, Looking forward to following your journey and learning from your insights!

Collapse
 
esuivant profile image
Emmeline

Thank you for your feedback ! I hope to share my next step in the coming days :)

Collapse
 
random_ti profile image
Random

Waoo Awesome Portfolio 🔥

Collapse
 
esuivant profile image
Emmeline

Thank you so much !

Collapse
 
chrisburkssn profile image
Chris Burks

Look forward to seeing the process.
Your portfolio is a fun little page. I like it.

Collapse
 
mzohaib27 profile image
Muhammad Zohaib Hasan

i love the design of your resume... the way you apply animations... love it....

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments. Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more