DEV Community

Cover image for πŸš€ My Journey in Hacktoberfest 2023
Farha kousar
Farha kousar

Posted on • Updated on

πŸš€ My Journey in Hacktoberfest 2023

πŸš€ My Journey in Hacktoberfest 2023: From Newbie to Placeholder Contributor! πŸŽ‰

Hey Dev Community! πŸ‘‹

I'm thrilled to share my exciting experience as a newbie contributor to Hacktoberfest 2023. It was an incredible journey that not only introduced me to the world of open source, but also led to a special milestone - becoming a Placeholder Contributor and earning that shiny badge! πŸ…

🌱The Beginnings of My Open-Source Adventure

Like many others, I had heard about the open-source community and the impact it can have on the software industry. But I was never quite sure how to get started. That's when Hacktoberfest came to the rescue! It's a fantastic initiative that encourages developers of all levels to dip their toes into open-source contributions. So I decided to take the plunge.

πŸ† Joining the Ranks of Placeholder Contributors

My first step was to find a project to contribute to. With a bit of research, I stumbled upon a project that was part of the Placeholder Contributor program. What's the Placeholder Contributor Program, you ask? Well, it's a program designed to guide newcomers, like me, in making their first open-source contributions. I couldn't have asked for a better start.

πŸŽ– Earning That Coveted Badge
The journey wasn't without its challenges. I had to learn about version control systems, Git, pull requests, and coding standards. But it was all worth it. I submitted my first pull request, and the feeling when it got accepted was indescribable! I had officially become a Placeholder Contributor and earned a badge to prove it. πŸ™Œ

πŸ”₯ The Spark of Motivation
That badge served as a symbol of achievement and ignited a fire within me. I felt motivated like never before to continue my journey as an open-source contributor. The thought of helping projects, learning from experienced developers, and being part of a global community excited me.

🌎 The World of Open Source Awaits
Hacktoberfest 2023 wasn't just an event; it was a gateway to a world of collaboration, learning, and growth. I now look forward to contributing more, connecting with other developers, and making a meaningful impact on the open-source projects I encounter.
So, to all the fellow newbies out there, take that leap of faith, dive into the open-source community, and don't be afraid to start small.

You never know where your journey might lead you, but one thing's for sure: it's going to be an adventure worth embarking on. 🌟

Have you participated in Hacktoberfest 2023, or are you considering joining the open-source community? Share your experiences and thoughts in the comments below. Let's keep the conversation going! πŸ’¬πŸ‘‡

Happy coding and open sourcing! πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’»πŸš€πŸŒ

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
felixcoding4 profile image
Coding_Queen_Felix

congratulations first jounery of contributor

Collapse
 
mirzamm20 profile image
Mirzamm20

Keep it up πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
kcdrama profile image
Kcdrama

GreatπŸ‘πŸ˜Š journey

Collapse
 
zubi5 profile image
Zubi-5

Good πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

Collapse
 
syedafrooz16 profile image
Syed-Afrooz16

Nice journey

Collapse
 
misbasaba profile image
Misbasaba

Great