DEV Community

Cover image for AWS Bad decisions: impossible to migrate
fedeagripa
fedeagripa

Posted on

AWS Bad decisions: impossible to migrate

TLTR: Due to so many restrictions AWS is generating a downtime of 3-4+ hours in my production site due to needed maintenance/migration.

I'm in a situation where as a founder I need to transition my AWS infrastructure from my personal account to a company domain one. You may say this is only my problem, but let say you need to migrate a bucket or a site from one account to other, now that sounds more casual, right?

Well, the thing is my infrastructure is a static web site hosted in AWS in a bucket. On top of that I have CloudFront & Cloudflare so my guess for a production site was that last two were going to be the problematic ones.

Unfortunately Amazon made the amazing decision to tight buckets to the creator account and don't provide any way to migrate or provide others ownership. On top of that they have the terrible restriction that bucket names are unique worldwide, so on top of I need to create buckets with the domain name to work properly now I'm completely blocked.

The only solution Amazon support provides me is to create a new bucket with a silly name in the new account, erase the old one and wait an unknown amount of hours for replicas to see the bucket was erased. So that means I will be working 3+ hours on a super simple migration and the production site will be down with all the implications that have for a content delivery company.

Thoughts? My thinking is that AWS is making so many wrong decisions and they are taking the wrong track about how to provide service to tech companies.

They need to provide flexibility just as they claim internally

Top comments (0)