DEV Community

Walter Forrest Griffith
Walter Forrest Griffith

Posted on

New to all this can anyone point me in the right direction to start!

Hi everyone im looking to start with some basics like how to actually get a repo to work from git?!?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Heyo! I'm not a dev, but I do work at DEV and so can hopefully help ya to navigate this site and find what ya are looking for. 😀

Since you mention Git and repos, I'm thinking you're interested in the open source world, and quite possibly GitHub.

For starters, you might find this brief article that explains the difference between Git and GitHub to be helpful:

If ya don't fully understand the difference after reading that, don't fret! There's a bunch of other guides on DEV and beyond that can help you get it. And while you can search on DEV for this kinda stuff, sometimes I recommend just using a Google search as you'll get different results.

Beyond this explanation though, I imagine you may want to see some practical guides that walk you through how to use GitHub, so that you can start digging into repos and working on code. There have been quite a few articles created around this:

Something I'd recommend, would be to follow the GitHub team on DEV:

They're regularly dropping helpful content and some of it is quite good for beginners!

If you're not as interested in GitHub, but really wanna dig into Git, you might enjoy checking out some of our curated guides around Git here.

Anyway, I hope this info is helpful to ya! I imagine this stuff can be pretty overwhelming at first, but as you get more and more pieces of the puzzle, it starts to come together. Granted, I'm not a developer myself, so I'm more speaking from my experience with others who are.

If you have any questions about using DEV (dev.to), then def feel free to hit me back. Hope you dig the community!