DEV Community

Cover image for 25 HR Interview Questions for developer with sample
Fatemeh Paghar
Fatemeh Paghar

Posted on • Updated on

25 HR Interview Questions for developer with sample

1-Tell me about your self

I have been experincing in programming aroud 10 years, The last company I was working is ... company.
My most recent front end developer position, I’m Responsible for designing responsive web pages mainly using HTML, CSS, Sass, JavaScript, ES6 Syntax, ReactJS, Redux, React hooks, Next.js, TypeScript, styled component to support performance perfectly.

My role in ... company are:
1.Collaborated with innovation, BE, CMS, QA members to implement ... and ... products.
2.Performs complex bug verification, release,testting and data support for assigned products.
3.Research problems discoved by QA or product support and develops soultions
4.helping to define and shape architicure and frameworks used in FE application.or updating packages or framworks.

2-What are your biggest strengths, abilities, feature, characteristics?

  • My main ability in this work is effectively handling projects and deadlines.
  • I've been known as a passionate, responsive and committed person who provides a suitable solution with high performance in strict conditions is the most effective feature of my work.
  • I am keen on teamwork and keeping a good relationship with my Colleagues. but I can also work well independently.
  • Listening to criticisms and feedbacks especially if they are constructive is one of my strengths.

3-what's your friends and colleagues opinion about you?

It is something that I've never thought about and I think they would say I am a hardworking and committed person and they would say I am a positive and supportive person. I can say I have 2 different characters, with my colleagues I am a serious person and they say I have a strong relationship and I am good at delivering projects but among my friends, I've been known as an honest and fun person.

4-why did you choose our company for cooperation?

As I visited your website and I found out that you are working in x and y field which are interesting for me. I've found out that you are looking for a full-stack developer with strong experience in c#, angular, HTML and CSS. Considering my skills and abilities I suppose that this position is suitable for me. Working in a start-up company seemed fantastic and I am excited about challenges.

Firstly, this job is an ideal match for my skills and experience. I’ve spent several years working in programming.

Secondly, I know … company is one of the fastest-growing companies in London, and I want to be part of that.

Above all … the reason I want this job …

5-Why did you leave your last job?

To be honest, I loved my previous workplace because I was successful there. I found it fulfilling to be there, but now I immigrated to Germany and I‘m ready to face new challenges in a new workplace; Germany is a developed and progressive country and according to my abilities and personality, I believe I can succeed in this condition.

6-What are your career goals/prospects?

In the first 2-3 years, I see myself as an expert programmer who knows the German’s company culture and can have good effects on team and company. For 2-3 years after that. I see myself as the person who can manage the team and offer technical and professional solutions for the company. I have this experience in Iran and I am going to have this in a developed country like Germany.

7-What is your greatest weakness?

I certainly admit that I am not perfect, When I was a leader in the team, I was impatient by the irresponsibility of some colleagues. For example, someone who could finish his task but didn't get it done because he had time to wait and part of the project was waiting for him to finish. I think it is annoying. But I try not to let it affect my performance. Well as I mentioned before, I do tend to get frustrated if I don’t see progress in my work.

8-Are you applying for other jobs?

Of course, I am. I am looking for the best place to put my skills into practice, and so far this place looks excellent.

8-What do you know about our organization?

What Is Your Dream Job?
what's your ideal job position and company?

I am looking to have more responsibilities and more room for growth I am going to upgrade my qualifications and be successful in my job plans both for my satisfaction and for the company in which I work.

9-Why should we hire you?

What makes you a good fit for this role?
Why are you the best candidate for this position?

I have good experience and passion for this situation. I also learned through my research that your company values x,y,z and I know without a doubt my experience in this area will sustain company standards and lead the team to greater success. I read about this position on your website, and I think that I can be a suitable candidate for this position.

10-How long would you expect to work for us if hired?

I‘d like it to be here for a long time; as long as you permit me and I believe that I do my tasks properly to remain in your company. I worked just in 2 companies when I was in Iran and generally, I prefer not to change my place and stay there and help the company to achieve goals. I worked for my previous employer for 5 years. That demonstrates my loyalty. So, as long as the job is challenging, and I am having growth and training potential, I will be happy to work there. I immigrated and I am looking for a new workplace and I hope to find a workplace where I can stay for a long time.

11-Are you willing to work overtime? Nights? Weekends?

I had this experience 2 years ago when we got the first project of a government client. We didn’t have enough time and I worked overtime at night and I didn’t come back home for a week. But after that, I lost my motivation little for working overtime because even though I keep the project alive, I just received some false promise. I love my job and I believe that when a project deadline is coming up, everyone must pull together to finish it.

12-Do you consider yourself successful?

Yes, because everywhere I worked, my employer and colleagues were very satisfied with me because I've done my best to be effective.

13-Explain how you would be an asset to this organization?

The capabilities I have in my field can be very useful for the improvement of quality in my department, giving the overall benefit to the company. I've always been a trustworthy person, and that's one of the important reasons.

14-What is more important to you: the money or the work?

I believe they are equally important to our well-being. But I am not looking to get rich and I am only looking for an opportunity that I can prove my worth to the company and this is my priority. I think Work follows money and money follows work. However, I can adjust for money to some extent if the work is challenging and doing which gives me job satisfaction.

15-Tell me about a problem you had with a supervisor?

My supervisor was not an on-time person and many times this caused problems in the project. This was the only thing I had problems with my supervisor.

16-Tell me about your ability to work under pressure?

It's funny to say I enjoy this situation sometimes, but not always. Pressure is a part of my work. When there is an imperative deadline, I put my focus on my work which has helped me to show my special ability, I stay focused and work fast under pressure.

17-What motivates you to do your best on the job?

I want to be successful in my job, both for my satisfaction and for my employer. When I see my employer is satisfied I will be happy. and I like working with someone who lets me do my job to the best of my knowledge and abilities.

18-How much is your salary expectation?

Thanks for asking, I am not looking to get rich and I am only looking for an opportunity that I can prove my worth to the company and this is my priority. I am looking for a position that pays between 60,000 and 70,000 annually but I am open to negotiate depending on my responsibility and benefits.

19-If you have 2 equal positions in salary and benefits which one, do you opt?

My choice will depend on company grade and the number of development teams and friendly relationship between company members. Also, in my opinion, the standard of assignments and reviewing responsibilities are so important. I mean how we apply Scrum. Technologies and design patterns are used in the company and company investments for using new technologies are so important to me.

20-What was your last responsibility?

I worked as a backend and frontend developer for 5 years and also, I was in charge of monitoring the members of the team and solving technical problems plus participating in analysis particularly in financial analyses that I made some effective solutions.in latest projects we used to .net core and angular with DDD pattern.

21-Would you like to travel?

Yes, of course, traveling especially in nature relieves me of stress and tiredness of work. I am keen on traveling in a group.

22-If you gain this job position, do you have no problem with commuting?

No, I am going to move to my new place and there isn’t any problem.

23-Have you ever failed projects?

Yeas, it was an online taxi project and unfortunately despite it being interesting to me, the project failed. Of course, it was a big project and I participated in some parts of the project. In my opinion, there are a lot of reasons for failing the project and we cannot say the name of a person or a reason for this but one of the main reasons was our product owner. He could not manage his time and relationship with the client to gain accurate information that finally with the client's unsatisfaction the project was put aside by the client. also, exactly at this time, some international companies started their online taxi projects in Iran, and it was another reason.

24-Can you explain a little about software what was that kind of product?

I think the provincial government was a challenging project for me. The main challenge in this project was finding the most effective way to update the client's data and database structure. In this project, there was one data center and more than a thousand clients e.g 2500 clients in one province. The main issue was that the clients received annual budget data and people's information from the server.in order not to be an extra load on server we decided to keep an updated copy of data on clients also there was the same issue in clints' database structure. Because every client had a distinct database. Finally, we decided to save a script code of update data and database structure in the server database. every client kept its last update record id.to inform clients immediately after updating with changing users' session flag that the data have been updated and updating process was done.

25 -Don’t you have a problem with working with women?

Of course not. I think it is a commonplace issue and also in my last position, I had high interaction with my colleagues both men and women. Sorry for waiting for you: Your company atmosphere/environment is fascinating. I had this chance to visit your company/get familiarity with your company.

Do you have any questions for us?

Thanks for asking, I was wondering if you could describe a typical day in life for this position? I am wondering which technologies and design patterns are used in your company and company investments for using new technologies are so important to me? Could you tell me a little about the organization? For example, how big is your workforce here?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
bcblearning profile image
Elayeche

Good

Collapse
 
negindrfsh profile image
Negin

👏👏👏

Collapse
 
amirdrf profile image
Amir

Fantastic