DEV Community

Cover image for How I Built my Website from Scratch: a Complete Journey! ๐ŸŒ
Franco Scarpa
Franco Scarpa

Posted on

How I Built my Website from Scratch: a Complete Journey! ๐ŸŒ

Some days ago, on this website, I asked if someone wanted to learn how I built my website from scratch. I love the Webโ€™s ability to connect people and information. Furthermore, it allows anyone to create their own online home, a place to express whatever they want. Whenever I visit a website, the first thing I do is not looking for the info I need, but rather analyzing it. I also love looking for bugs in layout, trying to understand how I could fix them myself. Iโ€™m a maniac of perfection, and I feel a slight tingling when I notice a defect in layout, fonts, responsiveness, etc.

I told you these things to make you understand how deep is the love I harbor for web sites and applications. I love all of the aspects concerning their building: from appearance to performance, from the philosophy on the use of personal data to the tools used to build them.

If you havenโ€™t read my last post on dev.to yet, francoscarpa.com already existed. I accidentally deleted its source code with a ruthless rm -r _site/ (Eleventy users will understand). In other words, I demolished the directory that contained all of its files. Since I hadnโ€™t use source control, I felt like crying: I had completely lost my website. Sure, it was online, but it only existed there at that point. I had to start from scratch.

However, in light of the work Iโ€™ve done to rebuild it, I can say it has been a good thing. Not because I didnโ€™t like the previous site, but because I like the current one too much. Iโ€™ve always promised myself to let other people know how I built my website. francoscarpa.com has finally come to a new, and (most importantly) stable version, so that moment has come.

I found this premise adequate to inaugurate the series of articles in which I explain how I built my website from scratch. Iโ€™ll talk about everything. Maybe YouTube videos were a better choice, but I have no moments of peace in my house, so this is the best solution.

If you are:

  • a passionate web designer and developer like me;
  • attracted to websites;
  • a beginner who wants to make his first step in the world of Web development;

these articles are for you. I will divide them as follows:

  1. tools I used;
  2. appearance (layout, fonts, and colors);
  3. philosophy, principles and privacy policy
  4. PWA behavior.

Get on board! I will take you on a journey up and down on francoscarpa.com! Argh!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Hi, Akshay. Do you need help with something in particular?