DEV Community

Cover image for My experience as a participant of Open Source Challenge by OSCA
Franklin Ohaegbulam
Franklin Ohaegbulam

Posted on • Updated on

My experience as a participant of Open Source Challenge by OSCA

In this article, I will briefly highlight about my experience in an open source challenge organized by Open Source Community Africa (OSCA) - A community of creative minds driving the Open Source movement in Africa.

What exactly is an Open Source Project?
Open Source Projects are designed to be publicly accessible for anyone to modify or use.

Below are some of the experiences i gained in the course of contributing to open source;

  1. I had the opportunity to learn how to write documentation, identifying issues and fix bugs.

  2. My communication skills improved greatly from feedbacks and constructive criticisms.

  3. Participating in the open source challenge improved my technical skills. I learnt how to write clean code, interprete and maintain existing codebases.

Learn more about OSCA:
https://oscafrica.org
https://github.com/oscafrica/open-source-challenge-2021

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Nice I know this is old but I wanna take part in all of these open source initiatives I believe they can spur ones skills