DEV Community

Fulton Browne
Fulton Browne

Posted on

What was your favorite piece of tech that died in the 2010s

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Mine is the MP3 player I still have an Ipod nano I bring with me everywhere, why? I have a dedicated device for playing high quality music that normally wouldn't fit on a phone, or it would have the audio quality reduced by streaming.

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

+1, I still use my old iPod Shuffle 🥺

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost

non-smart phones, short lived but phones with qwerty where magnificent. Nowdays I just want a phone to make/receive calls, you know, like the old days; and listen music, small and with physical buttons so I don't need to take it out of my pocket, and yes, a phone should fit in a pocket that doesn't belong to a clown. I don't need an IMAX screen in my phone. You can still find old-style phones but they are cheap and poorly made. Oh, and audio plugs and ethernet connectors, please market don't kill them. Some of us like and need them...

Collapse
 
binyamin profile image
Binyamin Green

FYI, "dumb-phones" still exist. Nokia makes a ton of them. I personally have the at&t cingular flip 2. It works very well for my needs, as I don't have many 😀

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost

not in my country, you can only find cheap and crappy ones. What protection index whould be when they are not protected from fingers or pockets? IP00? well, that would describe them. The point to me is to not think about the phone, which is hard when the tiny screen get scratch if you touch it with dry fingers :D

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Totally agree.