DEV Community

Fulton Browne
Fulton Browne

Posted on

Whats the best keyboard?

I am thinking about getting a new keyboard, whats the best one?

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
vgrovestine profile image
Vincent Grovestine

If you're in the market for an ergonomic/split keyboard, you can't go wrong with the one from Microsoft's Sculpt Ergonomic Desktop set.

Collapse
 
amorymeltzer profile image
Amory Meltzer

Same recommendation — I thought it weird at first, but took very little time to get used to. If I ever stop using it and start getting pain in my wrists from a laptop keyboard, I swear it goes away after just a few days with the Sculpt. I've thought about getting something else for years (something cool and mechanical!) but have never been able to justify it because I always find myself perfectly happy whenever I use it.

Collapse
 
a3n3d3i profile image
Andi

That is a really nice keyboard, wondering how it stands againts the "Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000", any idea?

Collapse
 
vgrovestine profile image
Vincent Grovestine

Having never used one, I can't comment on the MS Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000; however, the Sculpt Ergonomic keyboard has been a fine replacement for my old, reliable Cirque Smoothcat keyboard.

Collapse
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

I've been experiencing early signs of carpal tunnel and have been looking for something like this. Thank you!

Collapse
 
fcrozetta profile image
Fernando Crozetta

Personally i like mechanical keyboards, but I usually choose the most silent key switches, "non clicky" ones. Corsair has some good keyboards, but i found my hyperx reallly good as well...
If you want to spend more money, duckyOne has some great keyboards as well

Collapse
 
gawlk profile image
Kevin Gawlik

Checkout /r/MechanicalKeyboards

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Thanks, I think that will help.

Collapse
 
bradtaniguchi profile image
Brad

There is probably a best out there for each person, but I don't think there is a single be all, end all keyboard that is the best for everyone.

I personally use Kinesis's FreeStyle 2 keyboard as my daily driver, which is a split keyboard. It had a lot of what I wanted for a daily driver, with the awesome feature of being a "true" split keyboard in that each side of the keyboard can be placed directly in-front of each of my arms.

  1. 9 inches of spacing between each side, so my arms are directly out in front, rather than "angled" to the middle of my body for a more ergonomic setup than most split keyboards. (I personally think I should of got the 20" version, so I could put my laptop between the sides)

  2. Its satisfying to work on, and isn't noisy. It isn't mechanical but feels similar to one (at least to me 😉)

  3. Its corded, as a daily driver I can't have my keyboard dying on me!


I also use a Google Pixelbook which has one of the best keyboards I've ever used in terms of "feel".

Collapse
 
firstclown profile image
Joe Erickson

I have been a big fan of chicklet style keyboards, which seems counter to a lot of the push for mechanical keyboards now. I have a Logitech K810 in a Colemak layout. This lets me write on the same keyboard for my two computers and my phone due to the easy bluetooth switching buttons. I used to have pain in my wrists from coding and writing all day and that has all but disappeared after switching to Colemak.

Collapse
 
pj profile image
Paul Johnson • Edited

I use the Kinesis Advantage2, because of some wrist problems I had. It takes a week or so to get use to but I found it greatly increases my comfort: kinesis-ergo.com/shop/advantage2/

Collapse
 
carsturdy profile image
Carson Sturtevant

I'm a big fan of the Corsair K70 with silent switches. I love the feel of mechanical keyboards but hate the loud clacky ones.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I will look in to that, thanks

Collapse
 
iamschulz profile image
Daniel Schulz

I love the Logitech Craft. I hear the MX Keys feels the same, so that might be worth a look.
The Microsoft sculpt and apple keyboards a great too.
Mechanical keyboards are a bit too loud for m taste.

Collapse
 
visualmov profile image
Ryan

The Reddragon Kumara K552 is an excellent keyboard if you like mechanical keyboards. I've had mine for about a year now.

Collapse
 
asilvadesigns profile image
Alberto Silva

ducky one 2 mini, das 4 ultimate are some of the BEST I've used ever, with MX brown, personal fave.

Collapse
 
gochev profile image
Nayden Gochev

I am very happy by the CODE keyboard !

It is mechanical with o-rings so it is not that noisy and you customize the switches the way you want them. I am fan of Brown Cherry switches