DEV Community

Jonny Sherwood-Bowes
Jonny Sherwood-Bowes

Posted on

Living without panels....

For literally most of my Linux life I've been using xfce as my main desktop environment. Using xfce I've always had some form of xfce4-panel around the edge of the screen & conky sitting either on the desktop or inside the panel "see this gist for a how-to".

alt text

Recently I wanted to see what it would be like living without any panels or visible conky. The problem was that I still needed (wanted:?) a system tray for the likes of steam & clipman. Anyway.. I removed everything from my panel apart from the system tray & then set it to always be hidden unless I hovered over it. Next was conky. I wanted conky to output to the terminal & appear whenever I pressed a keyboard shortcut. This didn't take very long & was super easy to make.

[ JUST A SIDE NOTE ]

Conky set to output to the terminal can get messy very quickly, because it simply output's over & over.

To get things working & displaying the way I wanted I had to set conky to run only once within the config, but use the watch command in the script to have it run more than just once.

watch -t -n 1 'conky -q -c /home/furycd001/Dots/conky/terminal.conf'

With that done I decided I wanted the open window to be positioned to the top right of my external monitor. This was easily done using xdotools.

xdotool getwindowfocus windowmove 2948 22

Finally I saved the script script & executed it using the following command linked to a keyboard shortcut.

xfce4-terminal -H --hide-menubar --geometry=38x7 --execute /home/furycd001/Dots/Gucci/conkyterminal.sh &

Here's the conky config & complete script incase your interested.

alt text

I been using this setup almost a month now & I haven't had any problems. I've also been using xfce with no window decorations for a number of years now & my system looks more minimal than ever. I don't miss my panel & I really don't miss window decorations. I can see this being my setup for quite some time now & I'll probably find it hard if I ever try going back to using a panel.

Top comments (0)