DEV Community

Cover image for Weekends project: Analytics for Open-Source communities
Gajus Kuizinas
Gajus Kuizinas

Posted on

Weekends project: Analytics for Open-Source communities

For those who don't know me, I am an active open-source contributor. I spend a lot of time developing open-source projects and nurturing the community about them. To help me and others with open-source community management, I have built GitSpo – an analytics and an outreach tool for open-source projects.

Alt Text

It is pretty early in the days of the project, but I already integrate project mentions from GitHub, GitLab, Twitter, Reddit, Gitter, Hacker News, Medium, Stack Overflow, dev.to (of course! πŸ˜‚) and a couple of other smaller websites.

The use cases are still emerging, but so far I have heard people wanting to use it to:

  • track project mentions πŸ‘‚
  • track competition πŸ‘€
  • measure project growth πŸš€
  • measure advertising campaign success πŸ“ˆ
  • identify talent in the community πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
  • identify trends πŸ’…
  • talk to the community (more about this later!)

GitSpo is now live on Product Hunt – please come see what others are saying about the project and share your ideas. (Investor? DM me!)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

This is a super cool project. It appears so well done.