DEV Community

Geoff Dalgas
Geoff Dalgas

Posted on

Get Satisfaction or You Are Doing It Wrong

I have been very consumed with the things that I have been working on lately. Even now there are 10,000 ideas floating around in my mind about the various details of my current project. I am a software developer, it's what I do, but it's also what I love to do. My grandfather who rest his sole, passed away offered up this bit of wisdom after over 35 years of service in the FAA:

The most important factor is to enter a field that has a great attraction for you. To be happy in your work, do what you want to do. If you work just to make money, your work will be drudgery.

After you are in the job, try to increase your competence to perform that job in every way possible.

Work hard. Do the very best that you possibly can in performing the job, even if it means working overtime without an expectation of extra pay or rewards.

Have integrity. In other words, "when in doubt, do the right thing". At times, this is difficult, because it may seem that taking the "right" course of action is not in your best interests. In the final analysis, however, being a person of integrity will be recognized by other people, both on and off the job, and will pay off in both material and non-material ways.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
adriangrigore profile image
Adrian Emil Grigore

Satisfaction and integrity are two key words here!