DEV Community

Cover image for DevBox - Everyday utilities for the everyday developer
Szikszai Gusztรกv
Szikszai Gusztรกv

Posted on

DevBox - Everyday utilities for the everyday developer

I'm happy to launch DevBox (https://www.dev-box.app/) ๐ŸŽ‰ ๐Ÿš€ a desktop app of small useful of software (encoders, decoders, generators, viewers, etc.) that every developer should have!

Read on for more information, and check the end of the post for a discount!


I always used an online app for some small task that I needed to do during development. For example, when I needed to explore a minified JSON file, I would do the following:

โ€” search for JSON viewer online
โ€” try the first couple of results with varying success
โ€” find one that works
โ€” check the JSON
โ€” forget that this ever happened ๐Ÿ˜‚

Seems familiar? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I would go through the same steps for other tasks as well:

โ€” check difference of two texts
โ€” format XML files
โ€” generate QR codes
โ€” generate dummy text (lorem ipsum)
โ€” generate color palette
โ€” minify SVGs
โ€” etc.

So after the nth time I decided to create a desktop application that has all this, so the next time anyone could just use that and save some time!


DevBox is now available with 16 of these utilities, which I'm sure can help you in the days to come ๐Ÿ˜Š

If that's something you want, you can buy it here for a lifetime price of $25 $20 ๐Ÿ’ฐ (20% discount for the first 100 purchases) with all future updates included.

I'm planning on adding more utilities continuously and releasing new versions when 5 utilities are ready (whenever that will be). Keep in mind that the price will go up with more utilities, so you should buy it now to get the best price!


Since we are developers here, here is the technology that I used to create DevBox:

โ€” Mint โ€” Programming Language to create single page applications (and obviously desktop as well ๐Ÿ˜‚)
โ€” Mint UI โ€” Component Library for Mint
โ€” Tauri โ€” Allows us to create desktop applications that use the OS web-view (think of it as Electron alternative)

I'll be releasing a post about the setup sometime soon, so follow me if you want to be notified!

PS: macOS app notarization really sucks! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ


If you have any feedback, ideas, utilities to add, or questions, let me know in the comments below! ๐Ÿ’ฌ ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
getdevved profile image
Get-DevVed-YT

Wow! Seems very useful!