DEV Community

Jenn
Jenn

Posted on

Nevertheless, Jenn Coded

I began coding because...

I wanted to create a better Apple II game than "Wheelchair Hop" for my brother who is disabled.

In reality, I never dreamed I would be a developer when I was a kid. I was going to be a famous chemist. I only did technology work to pay the bills and support my dream of being a chemist. As a chemist, I somehow always ended up fixing computers or software used in the lab. Eventually I stopped fighting my technology skills and accepted that I was in fact a developer.

I'm currently hacking on...

Websites, so many websites.

At work, I am dragging websites out of the 1990s. At home, I am creating websites for random house appliances that my husband has connected to the web.

I'm excited about...

Making websites accessible for users.

My advice for other women who code is...

Remember, it can suck and that is normal. But sucking all the time is not! Don't be afraid to ask for help or a gut check if you feel like things are going sideways. You should get moments when things click because you make something that works and you are proud of, those moments are the best. I am always chasing that next moment of solving a problem.

Top comments (0)