DEV Community

Genne23v
Genne23v

Posted on

Knowing Better About Git

I love JS projects and also need to get better

I had to pick one project from a list of project. Although I'm practicing Java on my OpenSSG Static Site Generator, I still want to build more Javascript skills. So, I asked a few of Javascript SSG owners. Fortunately, one of them accepted me and I posted an issue right away so that no one else writes the same issue at the same time.

Open source setup

I think I should remember this process better for more of future open source contribution. I should fork the repo, and clone it on my local. Then, I need to create a branch to work on. Sometimes, I forgot this process, and I had to copy my working-in-progress in somewhere to reset my master branch and redo the work.

Finally understand git fetch!

This week's biggest learning was git fetch. So far I didn't recognize the difference between git pull and git fetch. And I thought why git fetch didn't get anything to my local. I just didn't know what git fetch actually is. And I learn that git fetch is a very powerful command. I just haven't realized its power because I didn't have to work with many others. It's amazing that I can get any branch from other repo for testing and reviewing. git pull is a combination of git fetch and git merge. That's a lot easy to remember. What a lesson!

Understanding new code structure and convention

The code structure was easy to understand. But last time I made too much change because of my prettier setup on my local. So I tried not to make the same mistake and looked at indentation, semicolons, and linebreaks. It's very cautious steps, but I would feel bad if someone sends me the code that has format changes all over, and I have to find which lines are actually changed.

Testing is tedious, but make sure of quality

I don't want to embarrass myself by missing test cases that can be found easily. Testing is tedious work as I need to make sure that all my sanity check passes every time I make a change. Even if it's a small change. It's going to harm my credibility if I forget something that could be found by anybody. Usually mistakes happens right before finalizing the work because a change is very small and I feel very excite to push it as soon as possible.

Image descriptionRecently contributor to my OpenSSG had to ask many questions as a result of not updating README

Don't forget to update README

Even for my project, I work hard to make a change and forget to update my README and the code that is related to my change such as usage description in my program. Documentation might not be fun work, but it's important. And it's a part of programmer's job forever.

Top comments (0)