DEV Community

Mervin
Mervin

Posted on

Why I love Javascript

Internet, web and computers are not just technologies. They are the reason why I love my job.

I'm passionate about technologies especially web. I created my first web project using html, css, javascript, php and mysql way back 2015. And since then, I was amazed of how great it is when it comes to working with codes and solving logical problems. It made me realize that programming is so wide and there's a lot to learn to become an expert to it. But even though it's hard, learning is great and it's what I do everyday.

Learning new frameworks, design patterns and how to make an efficient code are some of the things I do just to become an expert.

I started working with javascript since 2015 and I loved it. I had also tried using some javascript frameworks like jQuery and Angularjs. These two frameworks are very powerful because of its great functionalities and features.

Currently, I am studying this new framework called Vuejs. Vuejs is like Angularjs but more faster and lighter.

Javascript is a language with so much power. It is a programming language for any platform. Today, you can write javascript to run on different platfoms. An example of it is Electron where you can build cross platform desktop apps using javascript, html and css. You can also build mobile apps using ionic. There is also Nodejs which is a server-side javascript framework.

Recently, Javascript has a new version called ES6(Ecmascript2015) and it is more powerful because of its new features like 'let' and 'const' for scope variable declaration and arrow functions for writing function expressions.

As of now, javascript is the most popular and widely used programming language for building applications.

Thank you for reading! I just want to share my first post.

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
cjm4189 profile image
ChrisM

You should try BDSM...it’s less painful than JavaScript

Collapse
 
mangekalpesh profile image
Kalpesh Mange

That escalated quickly. 😂🙌🙄

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

It's interesting to take a look at the beginnings of the web, and how 3 competing industrial strength web application technologies eventually lost out to the dark horse JavaScript. (Keep in mind this isn't the era of JavaScript ES6, it's closer to the 1.0 timeframe, and the word "Live" of LiveScript still had a coat of whiteout on top of it and the word "Java" written on top in marker by a marketroid try to ride on Sun's coattails.)

The three frontrunner technologies for web applications was Java, Flash, and Silverlight. Yet in the end, like the little engine that could, JavaScript eventually deposed all the competition.

Collapse
 
mervinsv profile image
Mervin

I think the reason why too many people use javascript it's because you can use it in frontend or backend of your application. And i think it is much faster than others. And also it uses ajax/rest api :D

Collapse
 
hrmny profile image
Leah

Javascript had gotten a lot faster in recent times, that's true but compared to anything close to native it's still slow and the single thread nature of node.js makes it terrible for anything cpu intensive.

You can write and consume rest apis with pretty much every other language as well.

Collapse
 
jvanbruegge profile image
Jan van Brügge

Javascript in itself does not run anywhere. You always need an interpreter written in a different language (most of the time C++). So saying "Javascript is cross platform" is not really true. C++ is.
Electron is the worst development of the last few years. Why are people OK with a text editor that needs 2min to open a bigger file and 1GB RAM to do so (Atom, VSCode)? Or that a chat application needs another 1,5GB (Slack)? Everything feels slower than a few years back! You would expect that almost any application runs blazingly fast on modern hardware, but the trend to use a single threaded language in the times of multi core processors is just beyond me.

Collapse
 
mervinsv profile image
Mervin

I haven't tried using javascript to work in any other platforms. But this is a great idea to run javascript in any platform. But thank you for thoughts.

Collapse
 
melissa profile image
Meli

Awesome! I've yet to feel that way about JavaScript...are there any books/resources out there that you would recommend? I've come across several myself, but I'd like to find something that will help me fully understand it!

Collapse
 
courier10pt profile image
Bob van Hoove

It's an oldie but I'd still recommend it:

Javascript - The good parts by Douglas Crockford

Collapse
 
melissa profile image
Meli

Looks like a good read! Thank you!

Collapse
 
mervinsv profile image
Mervin

Try javascript.info

For me, this is a complete tutorial for javascript. With es6 new features.

Collapse
 
melissa profile image
Meli

Thank you!! I'll give it a shot!

Collapse
 
leightondarkins profile image
Leighton Darkins

Nice post! I've got to say, I'm a big fan of Javascript too (amongst other things).

As a trigger for further thought/discussion: What don't you love about Javascript?

Collapse
 
mervinsv profile image
Mervin

I think its type declaration for the variables. Because it is really hard to read if your application gets bigger. How about you?

Collapse
 
an5rag profile image
Anurag Choudhary

Have you tried typescript Mervin? It brings types (explicit and inferred) and a lot of other compile-time wonderfulness of statically typed languages.

typescriptlang.org/

Collapse
 
parthpower profile image
Parth Parikh

"JavaScript is a programing language for any platform"-----NO!

If you have ever tried a NodeJS server on an embedded platform, you won't say that. In the embedded zone, you don't want to use JavaScript at all! Well, it is easy to write JS, but there is a huge cost you have to pay; Power Consumption, Memory/CPU Requirements, Speed.

In that zone, all you could have is a pure native code.

Collapse
 
mervinsv profile image
Mervin

Thank you so much. I forgot about embedded applications. What I mean for "any platforms" are Web, mobile and desktop only. Sorry :D

Collapse
 
warrentaniza profile image
John Warren Tañiza

I love it! Thanks for the info man. (y)

Collapse
 
jerbiahmed profile image
JerbiAhmed

In case you missed it the last version is ES7 medium.freecodecamp.org/ecmascript...

Collapse
 
jvarness profile image
Jake Varness

JavaScript always gets a bad rap because of all of it's quirks, but it's still a language with a lot of flexibility and power.