DEV Community

Cover image for Eventually ,i learn how to learn to code
Patricia Simwa
Patricia Simwa

Posted on

Eventually ,i learn how to learn to code

"
Woooooops... where do we begin....
lets just begin..
have you ever just begun something..
will I really finish this thing...
i haven't finished anything i start
oh My i call my self a coder and i still know nothing...
yes, ive done tutorials..
even java
(but don't you dare ask me anything....)

"

Well people.. i suffer from the above syndrome..

but I get the feeling that I am healing.

so this is what happened, i came up with a great idea and that idea wasn't python, Java, or lets hack something or someone ... no.. the idea was to solve my personal problem which was ... "i need a good resume". What followed is i found resume templates available online for purchase and sites that asked one to input credentials so that the resume is generated. i didn't believe in any of that(as usual).. long story short.. I did what was necessary.. googled code on how to create such a template for myself. luckily I found and forked this a repo https://github.com/pattyleinn/resume-template

I coded bit by bit.. but meeeen.. i must have omitted a big

somewhere it didn't run...just as I decided to move on to another project like I've always done for years( I believe the reason as to why I still feel and I am code deficient).. i decided to be stubborn. I downloaded the files to my editor.. input my credentials and it wasn't until I ran into an actual problem that my brain woke up. A crucial section in my template had its items allover place. I had added extra information apart from the initial coders and it was now jammed up . well, staggering minutes of CSS, flexbox and div manipulations later. I succeeded in making a good resume. I feel proud to have solved my problem. to have coded and mostly to have learnt how to learn. What have learned is that it takes "needing something so badly, so so badly". All i need to do is feign this need whenever I pick on a project.

Top comments (0)