DEV Community

Ayoub Gharbi
Ayoub Gharbi

Posted on

What are your programming goals for 2018?

Top comments (82)

Collapse
 
loilo profile image
Florian Reuschel • Edited

Finally learn a programming language beyond PHP, JavaScript and its dialects to a degree at which I feel really proficient at it.

This will however probably fail due to the lack of a motivating project for practicing.

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Don't judge your path with fail until you try. You may end with your dream project and at the same time you learn a new programming language :)

Collapse
 
loilo profile image
Florian Reuschel

I'll try, in fact, I'm already on it.
The predicated failure is more of an educated guess. I've learnt multiple languages but have never done more than a small project with them and, over time, forgot how they work.

But thanks for the motivational call. 😉

Collapse
 
aarohmankad profile image
Aaroh Mankad

I'm currently learning some native Android development, while comparing/contrasting that to my React Native experience. It's been really fun so far! (I started about 3 weeks ago.)

My goals for 2018 are to:

  • Write more. See some of the things I've written so far: medium.com/@aarohmankad

  • Speak at a conference. I'd absolutely love to give a talk on one of my passions this year, and I'm actively applying to conferences that have open "Call for talk Proposals"

  • Start a podcast called Open Source Party. I'd love to pick an open-source project every week or two and contribute to it, talk about my experience, and maybe even interview the owner/maintainers!

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

So nice! keep on going :)

Collapse
 
andres profile image
Andrés Pérez

I will become better at Data Structures & Algorithms, working in a big company would be awesome for me (because I would get to meet incredibly talented people).

I will try to write an article on something at least once per month.

Also, I would like to finish at least one project, currently my GitHub looks like a graveyard of ideas hahaha.

Collapse
 
pratikaambani profile image
Pratik Ambani

Hahah, mine is also same. You may wish to share your planning. I meant which topics one is supposed to cover to be proficient in DSA...

Collapse
 
andres profile image
Andrés Pérez

I will be following this github.com/jwasham/coding-intervie...

Thread Thread
 
pratikaambani profile image
Pratik Ambani

Ahoy!! This is awesome!
Thanks a ton mate. :)

Thread Thread
 
gustavo94 profile image
Gustavo Preciado

I also recommend you to read this techdevguide.withgoogle.com/

Thread Thread
 
pratikaambani profile image
Pratik Ambani

Good one but quite confusing... 😛

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Hahaha, nice! good luck on that!

Collapse
 
carlymho profile image
Carly Ho 🌈

I'm hoping to pick up a couple more programming languages this year, since it's been a while since I learned a new one—Go and Rust are at the top of my list right now, but that might change, who knows! I'm also interested in trying out some hardware stuff this year, though I'm still trying to decide on a good starter project that'll still be something that I actually want to do. Professionally, it also seems like a good idea to learn Laravel and/or Drupal, so I have those on my list, too.

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Don't stop the good work! :)

Collapse
 
prestongarno profile image
Preston

I have 2:

  1. Learn Haskell and Go. I got a book on Haskell today and really want to learn how to use monads and applicatives, and then goroutines

  2. Use my pet OSS project in production and also promote it for others. It's a GraphQL client written in kotlin and uses delegated properties and DSL builders to query/mutate rather than traditional java builder-style like most libraries. I've been working on it for 6 months now and the only major feature missing is nullable types! Check it out: kotlinq.org

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Very nice dude x)

Collapse
 
theodesp profile image
Theofanis Despoudis

I have this list for start - but I may tweak it later.

1 - Implement a Beanstalkd server in Go
2 - Implement a MongoDB driver in Go
3 - Implement a resource Pool in Go
4 - Continue writing my book about Computer Networking in Go
5 - Write at least 10 articles for sweetcode.io/
6 - Write at least 20 articles referencing my book about Computer Networking in Go.
7 - Try to finish some Courses in Cloud Computing and from MongoDB University.
8 - Start writing more Scala code.
9 - Revisit my repos and update the ones I need to update.
10 - Write more applications in Mesos Framework.
11 - Contribute to some Open source projects I like.

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

A big list but doable with dedication and hard work, good luck!

Collapse
 
kbariotis profile image
Kostas Bariotis

For what particular reason do you use Mesos? Great list btw!

Collapse
 
theodesp profile image
Theofanis Despoudis

I find Mesos a better abstraction for developing Distributed Applications. I would like to develop some frameworks in Go and integrate some existing libraries there.

Collapse
 
noodleboy19 profile image
Alex Linck

To finally figure out what I should be learning. After years of professional development and study, every other article I read is still "X is dead. The future is Y." How can I be hip when all I have to talk about are solid coding principles and the importance of proper test coverage?

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi • Edited

What you have is the basics to learn any language you want. The evolution or the diversity of programming languages give you more motivation than ever because at this point you have a lot to learn and you have a lot to give to this big community :)

Collapse
 
novemberoscar profile image
Lewis

I don't think my 2017 was very useful, I can't learn deep-learning and mathematics that I thought in early 2017. I want to make sure my 2018 goals.

My 2018 goals are to:

  1. review and posting 20 over deep-learning papers and techs
  2. get high score in Calculus and geometry and vectors in high school
  3. learn linear-algebra
  4. do one day one commit
  5. announcement in pyconKR 2018
  6. do well in C++, Python, and tensorflow
  7. do big project
Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Great :) wish you the best :)

Collapse
 
thomasthespacefox profile image
Thomas Leathers

Where to start? oh yes, SBTCVM.

Short explanation: SBTCVM is a Balanced ternary Virtual Machine written in python. It works on a 3-state logic: Negative, Ground, & Positive

For roughly a year now Ive been telling myself that "I'll fix all the quirks in the current codebase's design eventually" Well, one goal for 2018 is to do just that with a modular codebase.

SBTCVM has been a learning experience in 2017, and in 2018 its still going to be a learning experience.

as far as I know, noone else has written such a thing like SBTCVM since the 70s, and the only proper computers to use the paradigm were built over 50 years ago... so i have my work cut out for me for 2018.

Aside from SBTCVM, I'm also working on a point and click adventure game engine, and i hope to actually finish writing some of the several computer games that have been collecting dust in my IDE...

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Very cool man, tell me more about the adventure game engine, I might be interested to help :)

Collapse
 
thomasthespacefox profile image
Thomas Leathers

well the engine is called Desutezeoid. The basic design premise is each screen is a "page" and each page is an XML file.

those XML files have 3 main sections: pageconf, fork, and core.
pageconf is what you might guess, the page configuration. fork is where special logic operation tags go. and core is where the actual screen objects are.

The logic works on a system of keywords called keyids. They are either present in the keylist (1) or not (0).

it also has a plugin system for adding additional fork and core tag types...

The engine itself is written in python and uses pygame. you can find the engine along with test code here: github.com/ThomasTheSpaceFox/Desut...

Collapse
 
sironheart profile image
Steffen

My goals are: learning a Desktop programming, multiplattform language (propably Java and Kotlin)
Also I need to revive and refactor my graduation Project. A website for sending an URL instead of an application Letter... Might be doing this Open source, didn't decided yet

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Great plan bro :)

Collapse
 
cschmitz81 profile image
CS

I like reading through all of these replies. Nice goal lists :)

In 2018 I'm hoping to:

  • Help keep my local dev community groups going while reviving a couple that fizzled
  • Help the jr and mid level devs at my job push to their next level
  • Continue learning more about electronics and bridging my dev knowledge into that world
  • Generalize and open source a content editor I wrote for an internal project in 2017 (though that one depends on if my company will allow it)
Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Nice :D

Collapse
 
arne_mertz profile image
Arne Mertz

I plan to

  • learn some Unreal Engine and Blender
  • dive into bare metal development, e.g. write an OS for my Arduino
  • mentor a few people in C++ and/or clean code (Twitter DMs are open, or contact me any way you like)
Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Niceee!

Collapse
 
emmanuelobo profile image
Emmanuel Obogbaimhe • Edited

So many goals but I’ll just name a few that I can remember.

  1. Become proficient in python/Android
  2. Get an AWS cert
  3. Contribute to open source projects (a lot) more
  4. Finish at least 15 functioning projects
  5. Write more technical pieces
Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

Nice :)

Collapse
 
afsoon profile image
Afsoon

Improve in my front end skills, I lack more than my back end skills. I am going to start study category theory and basics of type theory, maybe with Idris. If I have time, start with Rust but first frontend skills and keep improving in Elixir.

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

If you see what you are good at and especially what you are bad at you can improve easily, good luck!

Collapse
 
mcintyre94 profile image
mcintyre94
  • Finish Wes Bos' React for Beginners, and build something cool using React

  • Learn deep learning properly (probably the re-release of fast.ai) and build something cool

  • Build something (preferably cool) that makes money outside my day job

Collapse
 
ghayoub profile image
Ayoub Gharbi

I like what I'm reading :)