DEV Community

Cover image for Exploring what my game will be
Liam Arbuckle-Hradecky
Liam Arbuckle-Hradecky

Posted on

Exploring what my game will be

I've been wanting to tell a story set in my own science fiction world for the longest time. After countless times restarting the "world building" phase of writing, I decided that instead of simply writing a story, I wanted to make a video game based on my story. It helped that at the time I was going through a computer science course at high school, and due to my Wordpress website hobby my interest in programming was at its highest point so far. I continued writing the story down as if it were a narrative, but really just so that when I actually got around to developing the game I'd have a full plot and world built, so I wouldn't have to waste time doing anything in that area.

If we cut out the time since 2019, when I really started thinking along these lines, I'm now at the stage where my team and I are finally able to develop our dream game. We've gone through a few plot changes to make the game more accessible (which is ultimately why I'm writing this comprehensive narrative to completely identify the story we're trying to tell), however these original plot points from the first narrative idea are still remaining:

  1. An original ball sport based on jetpacks & simulations that would be played by different aliens around my fictional galaxy
  2. The home planet of the protagonist would be "destroyed" (or rather, captured) and a key part of the plot/quest would be finding it again
  3. There would be a focus on cooperation with other alien species and emphasis on how "newly discovered" species (such as Homo sapiens) could/would be integrated into a "galactic society"

As time went on, I started wanting to use my passion and skills in development to contribute to the scientific industry, and at the same time I began working with my new team on various blockchain-related projects. Recently, we've decided to make a "suite" based on the game, rather than simply the game itself. The first product is the game, and the game AI components. We're wanting to directly integrate citizen science (more information at Zooniverse into the game, as well as make every item in the game (which will be a controlled sandbox/open-world) an NFT available to be interacted with on an online marketplace (if you were to look at my previous discussions around a proposed software platform called "Arcadia", this is literally just an extension of that). I also knew that I wanted a companion app so that users could have minimal interaction with their character/game from wherever they are, and for this I started reaching out to various developers such as Myriad Creative Services to integrate parts of our product into their games, in return for creating a companion app for their product to increase user engagement.

Anyway, we've striked partnerships, received massive investment (yay!), got a partnership with Swedish band Veonity and are planning to do a Kickstarter campaign for our game in early December, as well as adopting a similar approach to Star Citizen in terms of funding our game through an online marketplace (our marketplace, however, will be based around NFTs & smart contracts and designed in a way that makes the game still mod-friendly (open-source) and not pay-to-win).

I wanted to share the narrative with you guys so that if anyone is wanting to get inspiration for their own projects, I can contribute to that.

Here we go!


In the beginning, there were the forces. Electromagnetism, the phenomena of interaction between magnetic and electric fields. The Strong Force, which binds the quarks that make us together. The Weak force, which is responsible for the eventual decay of all matter. And finally gravity, the force that binds everything together. Over time, .....

Read the rest of the article here

Top comments (0)