DEV Community

웃

Posted on

Uninstalling gems with a specific pattern/same family

Ever wonderered how to uninstall same family of gems without uninstalling everything from your rubygems folder?

I have mistakenly installed aws-sdk gem when I all I needed was just aws-sdk-s3 gem but left the command to complete and after sometime to my horror there were 264 gems installed which correspond to every available AWS services!

So, I wanted to remove all aws-sdk gems and startover again but at the same time didn't want to break my other gems. So I did write up small shellscript like the following:

$ for x in `gem list aws-sdk- --no-versions`; do gem uninstall $x -a -x -I; done
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Voila! All my 264 gems are uninstalled, not touching any other gem which is out of scope(Thanks to AWS folks with their naming convention as their every gem starts with aws-sdk- prefix.).

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
software_writer profile image
Akshay Khot

Thanks for sharing. I made the same mistake and your script did the trick!