DEV Community

Cover image for Rants of a Beginner Techie3
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac

Posted on • Updated on

Rants of a Beginner Techie3

Hello and welcome to another episode of "Rants of a Beginner Techie!" It might seem a bit odd that I change my greeting each time, but I enjoy keeping things spontaneous.

Today, as usual, I've got a lot to talk about, and I hope you find something valuable or relatable in what I'm sharing.

Lately, I've been working on a project (it's a secret for now, but I'll reveal it once it's ready). This marks my first real portfolio project. Even though I know HTML, CSS, C, and I'm currently learning Python, this project feels distinct from the ones I did during courses or experiments while learning. It's challenging, and honestly, it feels a bit strange. At times, I even wonder if I'm a bit crazy because a voice in my head keeps saying, "Are you nuts? You'll never finish this!" But I'm not disheartened because I've learned a lot from my past failures. I've gained more programming knowledge and a deeper understanding of tech in general. I'm approaching this project with a startup mindset because I believe that portfolio projects should have a purpose. If I'm going to present them to potential employers, shouldn't they aim to solve real problems? With each passing day, I'm starting to see programming languages as tools for solving problems and building software. I'm building and learning because I want to solve problems I'm passionate about. What interests you? Find a problem and create a solution! Trust me; it's a fantastic way to create a perfect portfolio project. I'm putting my heart into this project.

To be honest, others may have already devised solutions to similar problems, but that shouldn't discourage you. Why? Because we're all unique, and my approach to solving a problem might differ from yours. In fact, I've learned a thing or two by observing someone else's approach, and I'm open to learning more!

I also noticed something else that I'd like to share in today's rant. Some months ago, I frequently experienced burnout, even though I read blogs and watched tech videos. I couldn't pinpoint the cause of my burnout until recently.

I had turned tech into an idol, making it a "do or die" for me. I stopped doing the things I loved and dedicated more time to learning. It's not that I wasn't happy learning new things, but I felt like I was losing myself. I no longer had time for other things I enjoyed. Burnout slowly crept in, and I felt drained every day. So, my advice to anyone reading this, especially beginner techies, is simple: "Just because you're pursuing a tech career or dream doesn't mean you should forget who you are or neglect your family and friends. Be yourself but with a touch of tech." This approach helped me prevent burnout because my mind no longer viewed it as a burdensome task.

Remember to have fun and enjoy the journey! I'm starting to realize that it's a journey, not just a destination.

I'll conclude today's episode with a quote:

"Embrace the tech journey, but don't forget to dance to the rhythm of your own passions along the way."

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed the article. You can reach me on Twitter or send me an email at goldisaac33@gmail.com. I appreciate you all. See you next time!

Top comments (0)