DEV Community

Cover image for Rants of a Beginner Techie1
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac

Posted on • Updated on

Rants of a Beginner Techie1

I thought for a long time about what to write for my first post on dev.to. I had a bunch of ideas, like making tutorials or sharing tech tricks. But this morning, at 5 A.M, I came up with something even better.

I started tech blogging for two main reasons. First, I wanted to keep a record of my journey in tech. Second, I wanted to share what I know by doing what I love most – writing. But until now, I never really got the chance to express myself. All I did was write about hacks and technical stuff. Don't get me wrong; I love doing that and put a lot of passion into it. I make sure my articles are easy to understand, especially for beginners.

But now, I want to start a new series called "Rants of a Beginner Techie". It's a bit different, where I'll talk about my thoughts and my good or bad days as a beginner in tech. It might seem strange, but that's what I want to do. Of course, I won't stop writing other types of articles because they're already a part of me that I love, and I couldn't stop even if I tried.

Being a beginner in tech is tough. Some days, I wonder when I'll stop feeling like a beginner. I love learning new things, especially in the tech world, but one thing that really bothers me is something they call "Imposter Syndrome." We all deal with it, I know, but I think beginners like us should have our own special version called "The Beginner's Imposter Syndrome." It's mentally draining and often discouraging, but my determination and dream keep me going.

I find myself spending hours searching for success stories in tech and how others overcame their struggles. It's hard to find something that truly inspires me sometimes. What keeps me motivated is reading or watching the success stories of techies I can relate to. If I can't connect with their journey, it doesn't have the same impact. So, whenever I feel down, I make it a habit to seek out relatable success stories.

I've asked a few people about this, and I wonder, "If even experienced techies struggle with imposter syndrome, what should beginners like myself do?"

I love coding because I enjoy turning ideas into reality and solving real-world problems. Sometimes, the thrill of it all is so intense that I have to take a deep breath to stay calm. I remind myself that I need to learn the tools to make my dreams come true. It's a lot to take in, but starting somewhere is a good step.

Being a newbie in tech is undoubtedly challenging, but I also see it as a time to get to know ourselves and prepare for the tougher days ahead when we're working in the field.

As American author Susan Gale once said, "Anything worth having is worth fighting for."

So, fellow techies, let's buckle up and tackle this journey together. I'll catch you in my next article on "Rants of a Techie!"

You can connect with me on Twitter (or X) at https://twitter.com/Golden_builds.

Feel free to send me a message via email at goldisaac33@gmail.com.

Here's a link to my other blog: https://goldenbuilds.hashnode.dev/

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
rachelmlawson profile image
Rachel Lawson

As someone who doesn’t yet feel worthy of the term imposter syndrome (I can’t even PRETEND to know what I’m doing), this is so relatable. Thank you for sharing. Best of luck to you on your journey!

Collapse
 
golden_builds profile image
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac

Thanks so much ! I'm here to rant for all techies lol.

Collapse
 
praise002 profile image
Praise Idowu

I would join you in this.

Collapse
 
golden_builds profile image
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac

Heyyy Praise could you please explain better? I didn't get what you meant!